Song for the Sacred Spirit Scribes

(a modified Triolet trio)

Awake, awake, oh sleepy souls
and sing of silent things,
this eyelash flutter to unfold.
Awake, awake, oh sleepy souls,
unfurl your sacred tear-spilled scrolls
and give these words their wings.
Awake, awake, oh sleepy souls
and sing of silent things.

Awake, awake, oh stubborn spirit souls,
whisper words to hungry ears,
these stardust wishes loosed in gold.
Awake, awake, oh stubborn spirit souls,
when soft heart owns too much to hold
these pillowed phrases muffle fears.
Awake, awake, oh stubborn spirit souls,
whisper words to hungry ears.

Awake awake, oh sacred inky souls.
Moon, hold me while I sleep.
Unlace the sky, her stories told.
Awake, awake, oh sacred inky souls,
be vivid, vibrant, brilliant, bold
our deepest indigo dreams to keep.
Awake, awake, oh sacred inky souls,
inspire me while I sleep.

 

.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Song for the Sacred Spirit Scribes

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Prompted by:
    http://www.napowrimo.net/2012/04/day-eighteen/
    where we are encouraged to write a lullaby, possibly for poets…but this poet is trying to fight sleep. ;)

    Visual credit here:
    http://www.ebaumsworld.com/pictures/view/81487125/

  2. wayne says:

    nicely done and thanks for sharing your words

  3. Mary says:

    I like this prompt and will look at it for tomorrow instead of today. I love the request to inspire you while you sleep and always wish the same for myself. I always look at the moon as a protector. I am enjoying taking the NaPoWriMo journey with you. Here’s mine: http://inthecornerofmyeye.blogspot.com/2012/04/hillary.html

  4. Mary says:

    Hmm, I don’t see my comment. I wonder if you are checking your spam. I don’t have any way of contacting you.

  5. Nooooo, this? “Awake, awake, oh sleepy souls,
    unfurl your sacred tear-spilled scrolls,” I’m in love with that! This is the perfect form to triple up and use for a lullaby! Smarty! Oh! and this,”our deepest indigo dreams to keep.
    Awake, awake, oh sacred inky souls,
    inspire me while I sleep.” I love that too, De this is beauty!

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Awww, thanks, Hannah. I have a whole email inbox full of you, and just can’t seem to get over there. The further into the month, the more overwhelmed I am getting. THANK YOU for taking the time to swing by. I don’t know how you do it, but I soooo appreciate it. One of these nights when the muse refuses to write, I am gonna wrap all your words around me like a comforter, and just…ahhhhhhhh.

      • I’m an inbox cleaning spaz and I can delete some things without reading but I can’t do it to your magical words!!! That and maybe, just maybe that cold is slowing me down…still…I can only seem to manage three or four pieces a day right now. Hopefully if I am more disciplined or read this sacred lullaby to sleep I’ll be refreshed soon. Slow body…haha! I appreciate your kind words around my poetry, I’ve so loved being able to enjoy yours every day. Makes me smile!

  6. EJ says:

    This is so beautiful, De. I love the whole lullaby, and this line is just lovely…”when soft heart owns too much to hold”

  7. Shawna says:

    Great line: “when soft heart owns too much to hold” … And I love the inclusion of “lace” in any way possible when it comes to poetry.

  8. mbquilts says:

    Love the images and repeated phrases (even the similar ones or similar sounds). Nice mood-setting.

Use your words.

