Katie Can-Do

 

Katie Can-Do lives in Fibberlyloo,
where nothing ever comes easy.

When somethin’ needs doin’
it’s Katie who’s cooin’ “I can!”
Just as fast as you pleasy.

She will fiddle with cats
bag your wool, trim your fat
and she’ll even clean curd-curdled tuffets.
She’s a whiz with a well,
spiders, stars, even spells,
and she’s got doggie bones by the buckets.

Though she’s long paid her dues,
there’s no job she’ll refuse,
never sings those little boy blues.
Help look for your sheep
clean your John while you sleep,
babysit for old women in shoes.

While others will rant,
and whine, but I can’t!
Katie will say, Can-Do!

When the goin’ gets rough
she’s made of tough stuff.
Yep, Katie Can-Do.
Can you?

 

.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Katie Can-Do

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    NaPoWriMo bids us to write a nursery rhyme today:
    http://www.napowrimo.net/2012/04/day-27/

    This went a little rogue on me, but it makes me laugh. And by day 27, I’m always punchy anyway, so there ya go. ;)

    • I’m with you on this statement, De!!! As you can see from my attempt at this…any way. Your’s is at least amusing!! I like how you brought in all the bits of known childhood verse!!!

  2. Sarav says:

    Oh my friend, you are definitely channeling one of my favorite poets–Uncle Shel (Silverstein)! Wonderful! :-)

  3. Shawna says:

    I love spiders, stars, and spells (in poems), so this is my favorite:

    “She’s a whiz with a well,
    spiders, stars, even spells”

  4. ihatepoetry says:

    I sit on my fat tuchus in awe – is there any form you can’t do? ‘Course not! Loved it.

  5. Nope, I’m not aa Katie-can do. I definitely have my limits :) But you’ve described her very well here!

  6. EJ says:

    haha this is great! Fun!

Use your words.

