swallowed sun

                                                                photo by mama zen

.

green iris opens
petaled lashes flutter, flare
stare, as spring unfolds.

.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to swallowed sun

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Prompted by that amazing photo, over at Imaginary Garden with Real Toads, and the multi-talented Mama Zen:
    http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2012/04/sunday-challenge-featuring-mama-zen.html

  2. ManicDdaily says:

    This gives me a sense of standing in a cool sunny breeze in Spring. Rather like today, in fact. Thanks much. K.

  3. I would never have thought of the sunflower as an eye – very creative response to the photo.

  4. Ruth says:

    your poem made me see the image anew, through your eyes – awesome!

  5. meenarose says:

    “petaled lashes flutter open”…. wow!

  6. hedgewitch says:

    Great personification of the eye, and great use of the indirect and oblique, which is for me one of the most important ways to illustrate a point in poetry. Loved it.

  7. Grace says:

    Very lovely…I like the spring unfolding ~

  8. I love this…a sunflower wide eyed

  9. Laurie Kolp says:

    Isn’t that a beautiful picture? Well your haiku is a perfect match!

  10. whimsygizmo says:

    Thank you all, so much. I adore that photo. The poem wrote itself, thanks to Mama Zen’s blooming inspiration.

  11. What a fresh perspective. Wonderful!

  12. Very creative view of the photo – it does look like an eye, now that you mention it!

  13. Oh, DE!!! I love the eye of the sunflower!!! Smarty! You’re a true poet!

  14. poetcolette says:

    Stare.

    That is a fitting word for a sunflower. ! ! !

  15. rosemary mint says:

    Oh wow, I love love love the iris and lashes. Perfect!!!

  16. whimsygizmo says:

    Thank you all. She was lookin’ at me. Couldn’t not write it. ;)

  17. A popular photo…and a great write, loved it.

  18. Mama Zen says:

    That is really lovely! It just feels like summer.

    Sorry it took so long for me to visit. I’ve been really sick, and I’ve got a lot of catching up to do!

Use your words.

