Mishmash Muse

Photo by Daryl Edelstein, mosaic by Isaiah Zagar.



My left dimple is indigo Tahoe sea glass
tumbled by time and tide and troubled

moon. Right eye is favored aggie marble,
pressed above cold-cracked dinner plate

cheekbone. Lips are freckled in tar from
this very street I cannot walk upon; I

mouth my fragmented protest in mum
-bled glaze, terracotta haze and railroad

tied visage, waiting for someone to stop and
stare, dare to love my most fractured pieces.

 

 

.

Prompted by Imaginary Garden with Real Toads. http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2012/05/sunday-challenge-featuring-daryl.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mishmash Muse

  1. Wowzer!! This is just incredible… Such a unique vision has sprung from the image. I love the narrative voice, the perspective and the final line is just kick-ass good.

  2. Shawna says:

    I love poems that starts with “My left dimple.”

    Favorites:
    “Right eye is favored aggie marble”
    “Lips are freckled in tar”
    “mouth my fragmented protest in mum” (nice alliteration and hyphenation)
    “mum-bled glaze, terracotta haze and railroad” (smiling)

    But shabang on that last line: “dare to love my most fractured pieces” … This is really powerful.

  3. Oh this is stunning! “dare to love my most fractured pieces”…………I so love this poem!

  4. shanyns says:

    Love your fractured pieces! Very well done…!

  5. Grace says:

    I like the details of the fractured pieces ~ Lovely work ~

  6. coalblack says:

    who ARE you? you have such an original voice.

  7. coalblack says:

    ps–in case you don’t know, this is fireblossom in her wordpress disguise.

  8. Right eye is favored aggie marble,
    pressed above cold-cracked dinner plate
    How powerful your fragmented vision is..Love it!

  9. lolamouse says:

    That last line just says it all. Wham.

  10. Oh my amazing, De!!! I have no idea how you do this?!! Such imagination and creativity infused within each segment. Perfection my friend, absolutely perfect! :)

    “My left dimple is indigo Tahoe sea glass
    tumbled by time and tide and troubled

    moon.”

    This!!! Yes but I also love the col-cracked dinner plate!! All so very good!

  11. hedgewitch says:

    This one hit me from the very opening, the composite images just build–lightly, surely–really one of my favorites of yours, De–I especially like the first three couplets–the ‘tumbled by time and tide and troubled moon…’ just sang to me.

  12. Anne Katherine says:

    This fits the pic – but I believe is even more powerful without it!

Use your words.

