Imminent Demise, Surmised

(for Shawna, who shares my whim for weird word bump)

.

I have assembled
an assorted ensemble
of elegant elegies
for that murmured
moment
when destiny
and dynasty
……..clangclashcrash
die(nasty) deaths,
and we all
let fly our
sacred secret
diatribe
and
die, a tribe
together.

 

 

.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Imminent Demise, Surmised

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Be sure to click over and read yourself some Rosemary Mint (link above). Shawna’s awesome. Today she asked me to word bump “diatribe” and “die a tribe.” Not sure I’ve done it justice, but it sure was fun. ;)

  2. markwindham says:

    Me like. Lots of alliteration to love, good flow… ‘word bump’ huh, did not know it had a name. :-)

  3. sorrygnat says:

    love all your stuff; have you ever considered posting all in one post for the day? or do they come too randomly, a fan, e

    • whimsygizmo says:

      I like the organization of one poem per post, Esther. Are they coming to you via email update, and getting annoying?

      • rosemary mint says:

        She can probably change her setting to receive one notification per day or week.

      • sorrygnat says:

        i’d rather be on rss feed or whatever one calls it; i’m going nuts about FB messages, try to be courteous, thoughtful, encouraging, but my original concept was people subscribed to your blog, now there’s a plethora of FB comments; can you enlighten me, i’m not criticizing anyone as the writing process is varied, but it takes a lot of time.

      • whimsygizmo says:

        I understand completely, Esther. I’ve had to turn off some Facebook notifications for a time (the new MNINB Group was one of them), to not go insane trying to keep up. Do what you think is best. I certainly won’t be offended if you need to “unsubscribe.” You could stop by once a week (or month) and read at your leisure. I know I post daily, sometimes several times. It can be overwhelming. Even my hubbie has me on RSS feed, instead. ;)

  4. Mary says:

    I love “die(nasty)” and all the ‘word bumping’ (which I never heard it called before, so I learned something) in this poem. Enjoyed the playfulness of the poem & smiled broadly at the ending. I’m gonna have to try some of this play!

  5. Anne Katherine says:

    Love your 2 word bumps here and I’d love to read your elegant elegies, as well! I actually would have to prepare those beforehand. I’m not good writing when surrounded by the actual emotion of things. However, on second though, we probably won’t have use for any of those elegies since we are going to die a tribe — the only way to go, I say! :)

  6. rosemary mint says:

    I was going to say this is my favorite part:

    “for that murmured
    moment
    when destiny
    and dynasty
    ……..clangclashcrash”

    And then I read the second half!!!

    From “die nasty” down, I was gritting my teeth and grinning, if you can even do both at the same time. :)

    I just love the idea of dying nasty. You rock my world, sister.

    • whimsygizmo says:

      :) So glad you like. Thanks for the inspiration. The “diatribe/die a tribe” combo was a GREAT idea.

      • rosemary mint says:

        Next time, maybe you can “dye” a tribe. ;)

        Mark was really the inspiration for my inspiration; he used “diatribe” in a comment he left me.

        The word “conglomerate” just popped into my head; how would you magic that one?

        Kong, clang, glam, glow, knock, me, rate, irate, REM, tear, eat, ate, ear, mango, rat, aria, ember, emo, more, mole, mega, long, lock, area, ogle, Glock

        Feel inspired? :)

      • whimsygizmo says:

        Heading out into this horrid heat (107 today) to run sweaty errands. Back later to tackle this word bump fun. :)

      • whimsygizmo says:

        Whew. That was fun! :)

  7. rosemary mint says:

    And isn’t your title clever?!

  8. rosemary mint says:

    I left you another poetry challenge somewhere, suggestion a word breakdown. But now I don’t know where. I wonder if it didn’t post. :(

  9. OH MAN!!! I love what you’re doing here!! I just can’t tell you how much fun this is for me to read and it makes my brain fuzz, buzz in a nice way, too, if that makes sense to you! Riding the tail of well-spun words! Thank you, De!!

    Love this:
    “for that murmured
    moment
    when destiny
    and dynasty
    ……..clangclashcrash
    die(nasty) deaths,”

    Yes! Those nasty deaths! Excellent!

Use your words.

