Changing My Tune

I tried it your way, Suzi Q.
Rocked hard
fell hard
filled my leather pants
pockets with cigarettes
and cold regrets
and empty promises.

From now on
I shall rock soft
in porch swings
and simple springs,
delighting in yoga pants
and second chances
and dancing in bare feet.

.

 

.
Written for Imaginary Garden With Real Toads.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Changing My Tune

  1. From now on
    I shall rock soft
    in porch swings
    and simple springs,
    delighting in yoga pants
    and second chances
    and dancing in bare feet.
    Love this and identify with it completely. Wonderful write!

  2. Marian says:

    ooooh i simply love this. she writes, having just had yet another birthday, ensconced in pillows wearing yoga pants. :)

  3. Anne Katherine says:

    Liked the leather pants w/ cigarettes – and then “cold regrets.”
    Suzi Q. too, will have to slow down someday. Time will catch up with her :)

  4. lolamouse says:

    I never could pull off the look of leather pants! Yoga pants are more my style! Loved this!

  5. De, your internal rhyming is spectacular in this poem. I miss my leather pants.

  6. SaraV says:

    De the internal rhyming is perfect! And the poem is such a delightful flow of images ending in joy:-) :-) love it sometimes I’d like to figure out how to sit on my porch swing in leather pants but that’s another poem….

  7. rosemary mint says:

    “From now on I shall rock soft in porch swings and simple springs, delighting in yoga pants and second chances and dancing in bare feet”

    I hear ya, homegirl. :) Yoga pants sure feel nice compared to pleather! I haven’t done anything with the Suzi prompt yet. I love your take, though. This is perfect.

  8. I never wore leather pants and the world is a happier place because of it..lol Oh and I love yoga pants! Great fun piece!!!

  9. I love the way you rock!! Yoga pants…yes!! Comfort is the name of this game! Smiles!

Use your words.

