Summer Song

 

 

I need a phone call
I need a plane ride
I need a sunburn
I need a raincoat

I need salty toes
and quiet flow
and a heart that knows
exactly where it belongs,
17 steps down to water’s edge
and a sky that might cry
if you ask it just right
a tattered notebook
and a turquoise pen
and a hollow in the sand
that fits the contours
of my heart
a new start and a fresh page
sol-soaked days
and star spilled nights
and the lullaby of waves

I’d like to hear a little guitar
I guess it’s time to put the top down

.

Cool prompt from Izy over at Toads. She bids us to share our go-to breakup song. There were so many choices for this prompt. Sad: “In Too Deep” by Genesis, for high school. Angry: anything from Alanis Morisette’s “Jagged Little Pill” album for the early 90s. These can still completely invoke the emotions I felt at the time. But the one that best feeds my melancholy: “Raining in Baltimore” by the Counting Crows. Actually, anything from “August and Everything After” still rocks my sorrow-salted heart’s world. But this one, especially. The twist: Izy has asked us to use a lyric from it in a way that ISN’T about a breakup.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Summer Song

  1. Marian says:

    17 steps! love that detail.

  2. alvaradofrazier says:

    “I need salty toes
    and quiet flow
    and a heart that knows
    exactly where it belongs”
    Your words enraptured my heart. Thanks.

  3. This song is amazing – the depth of emotion is unforced and so familiar… Whoosh.

    I love your personal list of things you need – and not those that will feed melancholy, but will bring ease and joy.

  4. rosemary mint says:

    You make me want to go to the beach and breathe. But by myself, with my notebook and my pen. :)

  5. Crazy cool, De…I almost picked counting crows for this too!! That entire album was my after school teenage blues-go-to-album!!!

    “17 steps down to water’s edge
    and a sky that might cry
    if you ask it just right
    a tattered notebook
    and a turquoise pen
    and a hollow in the sand
    that fits the contours
    of my heart”

    You rock, De!!! This is perfection!

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Hannah! I knew we were kindred spirits, soul sister. Though I’m your OLDER sis. I was no longer a teenager when Counting Crows rocked my broken heart. ;) I know every word to every song, though. “Anna Begins” is my absolute favorite.

      • Oh, DE!!! Meee tooo!!! I know every word and Anna Begins *sigh* love IT!!!

        I’m so excited to have you for an older sister (not by much), we’re truly kindred!! Love to you!!

  6. shanyns says:

    This is totally awesome! I think I may copy it to my journal, with your link in turquoise, so I remember it! Love it!

  7. Just beautiful…some days a fresh page can give the best perspective. Love Counting Crows, Alanis too!

  8. Mary says:

    I love this, especially the ending! Yes, the top down….what a free feeling THAT is!

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Thanks, Mary. I drove the Pacific Coast Highway on the California coast once, in a topless convertible. It was fun, but the company left much to be desired. This past two summers, my amazing hubbie and I did the main part of the post with the kids, in our plain old SUV. HEAVEN. ;)

  9. oh man…I was 14 when Round Here from this album hit MTV. It was my favorite song that year. I remember skipping school, getting high with friends, then watching that video (it was okay because I was a straight A student with going to school ever). I had two copies of that album, however I only ever listened to that song and the Mr. Jones tune. So I was appreciative that you chose a deeper cut. The song is amazing.

    your poem….equally impressive. I loved the mad meshed list of things you need. But my favorite line is:

    a hollow in the sand
    that fits the contours
    of my heart

    I very much liked the looseness of this, though you can tell you put a lot of effort into making it effortless. Thanks for posting and Viva la

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Thanks, Izy. This was a GREAT prompt. “Round Here” was somewhat of a mantra for me in the mid-90′s, too (except I was older than you). Isn’t it funny how songs can take us straight back? I absolutely adore this album from the Counting Crows. Pure poetry.

Use your words.

