Opening

It’s not large I want,
but I go in anyway,
searching for some small place
to store my heart
wanting to wear this rough bark
as my new skin,
moss cover these fragile
flailing dreams
to hide them from the sun.

 

.

Photo and prompt from Kellie Elmore’s Free Write Friday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Opening

  1. kellieelmore says:

    You are just brilliant with brevity! I love the whole idea of a safe place for the heart. Beautiful take on this prompt! I envy your pen! ♥

  2. Oh, I like this. So short and sweet, and with a message much bigger than the few words.
    And, as always, love dem toes!

  3. Love this as a place for the heart. beautiful write

  4. Nice. At first, before I saw the photo, I thought the narrator might be choosing a boat of some sort. Rough bark as new skin — love it!

  5. K. McGee says:

    I second kellie’s comment. You can turn anything into a metaphor.
    Brilliant this is:
    “wanting to wear this rough bark
    as my new skin,”

  6. Brilliantly done. This poem really resonated with me, love your take on the image. A short but powerful piece.

  7. Sara V says:

    Love that phrase “moss cover these fragile
    flailing dreams
    to hide them from the sun.” Very cool :-)

  8. rosemary mint says:

    Nice: “wear this rough bark
    as my new skin”

    I think you should hyphenate “moss cover.”

  9. This is seamlessly done. What a cool prompt!

Use your words.

