roadside salutations

how now,
……………………….brown cow
shall
we picket these
……………..white fences
invite you here
…………………………………………me there,
dare to share?
my bear says
…………………..we all
(especially we small)
find ourselves lost,
…………………………………….need help getting
known.

.

Photo prompt by Trifecta.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to roadside salutations

  1. .we all
    (especially we small)
    find ourselves lost,
    …………………………………….need help getting
    known.

    I SO love your take on this…SO true, too. Love that you gave the small voices. Great take my dear poetic friend!! :)

  2. I think there’s a lot more in that poem than initially seems to be present. This is more than just a greeting from a girl to a cow – it’s someone small reaching out to someone else small and saying ‘together, perhaps we can be big’. Goosebumps!

  3. A perfect marriage of Theodor Geisel and e e cummings. Cute!

  4. habibadanyal says:

    Spectacular! Good one. :-)

  5. I love the wisdom in this piece.

  6. Thank you so much for linking up to Trifextra this weekend. The challenge this weekend will be judged by the community. So please come back to the Trifecta home page and click the stars next to the three posts you most enjoyed. You only have until Monday at 8 am EST, so hurry!

  7. beautiful prose! My favorite entry this week!

  8. Christine says:

    There is nothing I don’t love about this poem. Every word is perfect. Beautifully done, as usual!

  9. Mary says:

    Yes, being known is something we all desire….from young on.

  10. Well, I am quite comfortable with horses, but am afraid of cows…so I, myself would not have any roadside salutations for that brown cow :) But I did love the picture as well as the poem!

  11. rashmenon says:

    you amaze me! another great post :)

  12. rosemary mint says:

    PRECIOUS!!! I love that picture. :)

    Super cute:
    “we picket these
    ……………..white fences
    invite you here
    …………………………………………me there”

    Love this:
    “we all
    (especially we small)
    find ourselves lost”

    I don’t know what the prompt was, but might I make a suggestion? I would change the final word to “over.” There’s a double play with climbing over an obstacle and also getting over past struggles/hurts.

    “picket these white fences” is so very clever

Use your words.

