Bilateral Symmetry

Puddle, 1952, M. C. Escher

Rorschach had it right.
Everything is something
else, especially when stretched,
etched in ebony. These puddle-pressed
places are filled with trees
and breeze and pools of whisp
-ered wish, my scattered footprints
washed over by my own saltwater
ways, each phrase dipped in song
and sorrow, blot thoughts caught
and spilled. Take a look in this
slender mirror of sweat and blood
and ink. What do you see?
Come on now, think.

.

.
Visual prompt from The Mag.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Bilateral Symmetry

  1. ihatepoetry says:

    Loved this. Love you! This was bril.- Mosk

  2. Archna says:

    What an interesting character to choose. ‘Everything is something’, etched into existence through determination or love. Layered and lost, yet held together in time through wishful ways and memory.

    Thank you for these thoughts. :)

    http://archnasharma.blogspot.com/2012/06/in-this-life-love-is-my-temple-strange.html

  3. brian miller says:

    my scattered footprints
    washed over by my own saltwater
    ways, each phrase dipped in song
    and sorrow….nice…i like the humility too in asking what you see…rorchact was a nice touch as well…nice write…

  4. Helen says:

    I like the way you urged us to really look at the image … I see the moon, the moon sees me!!

  5. Laurie Kolp says:

    Love your voice in this, De… unique perspective!

  6. Tess Kincaid says:

    I wondered if anyone would mention Rorschach…I’m glad you did…very nice…

  7. Berowne says:

    Everything IS something else! Words to live by. :-)

  8. Sarav says:

    Escher is sooo cool! Love the scattered footprints washed over by my own saltwater–beautiful!

  9. rosemary mint says:

    I love Escher. I may have to do this prompt. How clever of you to go Rorschach.

    Love this, especially the line break:
    “Everything is something
    else, especially when stretched”

    And these:
    “blot thoughts caught
    and spilled”

    “Take a look in this
    slender mirror of sweat”

    “Come on now, think.”

  10. De, my super-worded-wonderful friend!!! I love where you took this image….

    “my scattered footprints
    washed over by my own saltwater
    ways, each phrase dipped in song
    and sorrow,”

    The entire poem has a such a contemplative feeling to it and I love the puddle-pressed places and your question in the end!! So many goodies here! :)

  11. Love it, De! Internal rhyme works beautifully, and the assonance and alliteration makes if flow along so smoothly! Beginning & end fit together like two puzzle pieces:

    ” Rorschach had it right.
    Everything is something
    else…
    …Take a look in this
    slender mirror of sweat and blood
    and ink. What do you see?
    Come on now, think.”

  12. rashmenon says:

    ooh, love the flow from nature to emotions to the audience. great work, as always :)

  13. Anne Katherine says:

    “blot thoughts/caught and spilled” very nice.
    A lot to think about here.

Use your words.

