End Game

You
……………………go long
puzzle out how to
keep this marble
…………..spinning
or how to breathe your best
last.

Me,
I think I’m gonna
sit here with my turquoise pen
………………………….take it all in
leave something new
behind
to burn
when it all goes
………………………………………. kaboom.

.

Written for Trifecta for the prompt, “The world will end in three days.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to End Game

  1. Brilliance!!!! Love what you do…but YOU know that!!! Ha ha!!

    Love this:

    “take it all in
    leave something new
    behind
    to burn
    when it all goes
    ………………………………………. kaboom.”

    I’ll be there…or here doing the same my friend!! :)!!

  2. Shawna says:

    What a perfect weaving of football elements. A guy would be watching football while the girl is writing it all down. ;)

    This is great:
    “leave something new
    behind
    to burn”

  3. vivinfrance says:

    This one’s an absolute cracker. I love it!

  4. jannatwrites says:

    I like how you depict the differences between the two – one analyzing, the other doing.

  5. “leave something new
    behind
    to burn
    when it all goes
    kaboom.”

    love it!!

  6. Breathe your best last. Leave something new behind to burn. Gorgeous, beautiful lines. I love the flip to style. Thanks for bringing it again. We hope to see you back Monday for the newest challenge.

  7. Nice word placement and flow enjoyed

  8. habibadanyal says:

    leave something new behind to burn! beautiful!

  9. I loved “breathe your best last”. That was such a cool image.

  10. Christine says:

    I love that this is fatalistic and optimistic at the same time. It made me wonder what I would do, which way I’d react. Or would I have a completely different response to the end of the world? I wanted to point out a favorite line or two, but seriously, the whole thing is just beautiful.

  11. brenda w says:

    Spinning down the page…going with the flow. Love it.

  12. Sandra says:

    I loved the two different perspectives. The entire piece just took my breath away.

  13. rashmenon says:

    and i echo, abs luvv ‘leave something new
    behind
    to burn
    when it all goes
    ………………………………………. kaboom’ – luvv the word placement and the optimistic take on fatalism

  14. this gave me goosebumps. Amazing.

  15. Pingback: Trifecta: Trifecta: Week Thirty-Five | four-posts

  16. karen says:

    I’m not usually good at poetry, but this is fantastic. I like the idea of wanting to leave a little something behind.

  17. Anne Katherine says:

    Me, too! Though perhaps with a purple pen :)

Use your words.

