Etymology

.

When the words slip free
rain through fingers
sunlight pouring loose,
lost
and tossed to wind’s whim,
refuse to assemble
along ivory battle lines,
I long to study their foreign roots
utter origins of Latin, Arabic
command them with proper accent
and woo their road-weary hearts
into submission.

These uncertain syllables
bob and sway
squeak out their hesitant
“quoi?” and “que?”
and wander about in the streets
left to their own recognizance;
collect ammo of my ignorance,
plan their final ineloquent mutiny.

.

 

.

Written for Poetic Bloomings.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Etymology

  1. Misky says:

    Excellent take on this prompt. Sunlight pouring loose is such a wonderful phrase. Make me feel all nice and warm and toasty. :)

  2. Shawna says:

    I love the lull and imagery of these lines:

    “When the words slip free
    rain through fingers”

    “These uncertain syllables
    bob and sway”

  3. Abbie Taylor says:

    This is an interesting look at the origin of words.

  4. K. McGee says:

    I often have the same longing, but fear the battle I am losing. Love the images of the ivory battle lines and collecting ammo for the mutiny.

  5. Yes, words wander everywhere and yes, it is uncertain how they read – only I feel so lucky that you reach out and I feel so lucky that you can use Google Translate.
    Mange tak for digtet og jeg er også fascineret af ordenes oprindelse.

  6. Sarav says:

    Oh I love this!!! Etymology is one of my favorite things–root, root, root ;-)

  7. YOU NEED A BLOOM FOR THIS!!! SO magical!! Love this:

    “I long to study their foreign roots
    utter origins of Latin, Arabic
    command them with proper accent
    and woo their road-weary hearts
    into submission.”

    Amazing!!

  8. Anne Katherine says:

    Esp. love the final stanza — and I, too, love to look up the origin of words :)

Use your words.

