Bad Dream

Art credit here



Coral straw
…………………………….and cold blossoms;
tree roots dying
…………………….crumbled white
as teeth,
…………………………fallen leaf
litters
……………….a quiet street
black shoelaces scuffling
………….masphalt Morse code
gilled storm grates
………………………………………..breathe
unpalatable steam,
……………………….veiled dreams floating
coating my throat in
…………………………………………………slick
…………………………………………humid
……………………………………………………silent
……………………………….scream.

Written for Shawna’s words.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bad Dream

  1. Mary says:

    Loved the wording in this poem. I can FEEL the surreal quality, the terror, of this bad dream. And I can hear that “slick humid silent scream.”

  2. Oh wow, you REALLY like that image. It’s HUGE! :)

    “crumbled white
    as teeth” … I love this variation on “white as snow.” But it does make me think of really bad tooth decay. :)

    “fallen leaf
    litters” … Oh, I like that you turned “litter” into a verb.

    “asphalt Morse code” … This is super cool.

    I love that the grates are breathing. Also, this is a command for the reader to breathe. And also, everyone (including the grates) is breathing unpalatable steam. This is never good. But it is very good to breathe floating dreams. But not good to coat your throat in silent scream. Just scream for real and get it over with. ;)

    I think this is really a very happy and relaxing picture. She may look like her head is down in sadness, but really I think she’s swimming in her clothes and washing her beautiful hair.

    I love the way you slowed things down at the end:

    “slick
    humid
    silent
    scream”

    What a pleasant surprise to see this poem. :) Glad to see you catching up. Lovely work, my dear.

  3. sorrygnat says:

    wow, well done – loved asphalt morse code!

  4. markwindham says:

    must remember to get here before Shawna i I am to comment – she pretty much covered it all. :-) very good, def love the end

  5. I’m here looking for this morning’s poem. And just so you know, I’m going to leave the shortest comment ever to be sweet to Mark. :)

  6. Oh, yes…the last of the words you offer are so the epitome of a bad dream…

    “.veiled dreams floating
    coating my throat in
    …………………………………………………slick
    …………………………………………humid
    ……………………………………………………silent
    ……………………………….scream.”

    mmhmm love the floating and coating!!

  7. Sara v says:

    So many fantastic phrases!! Love the “gilled storm grates breathe” what an image!! And so creative.. like usual my talented friend :-)

  8. Stunning images and photo.

Use your words.

