Acoustic De (the reprise)

I’ve gotten sweet “hey…where ARE you?” messages from a few of you kind poetic friends, so I thought I’d better clack a little black back, and say hello. We were in Utah for the past three days, at the cabin of some very generous friends. The internet was sporadic, at best, which was liberating. Lately I’ve been, as I told my favorite new poetic friend and sharp-penned poet Shawna, “sick of the sound of my own voice,” and it was nice to ignore that voice for a few days, besides a few scribbled lines (you can’t possibly look at the prehistoric stern-faced wonder that is a horny toad and not write something.) I wrote a little, but read a lot, and just breathed in the rain-soaked mountain air. The kids caught a couple of snakes, almost caught a couple of wily leopard spotted frogs, and we saw more deer than we can count…including two dipping their velvet faces down into Aspen Mirror Lake for a drink.

I’m thankful for a Creator who keeps leading me beside still waters, knowing I need this flow for my own sanity, creativity, and well-being.

I’ve got some crazy clients clamoring (advertising copy pays actual money, go figure), so I may take the weekend to get things back in order before I ask daily poem word drops of myself again. Back Monday, for sure. Hopefully with a well-rested muse, and a voice that doesn’t grate on my own nerves.

I also have some online publication news to share, when I get organized. I got two of the nicest acceptance letters ever this past week. Thankful.

Good words to all of you. Your support and inspiration mean so much to me. I have most of you set to come to my email inbox. Know that even when I don’t take the time to comment, I am always, ever reading, and grateful for your poetic talents.

Unplugging (sort of) for a little while longer,

Acoustic De

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Acoustic De (the reprise)

  1. markwindham says:

    :) even when you are writing about not writing you make it sound good.

    ‘rain-soaked mountain air’
    ‘dipping their velvet faces down into Aspen Mirror Lake’
    ‘crazy clients clamoring’

    and a few others…too much poet in you for it to not come out. Have fun; once again envious. :-)

  2. I’m proud of you for knowing when to stop writing for a bit. Sometimes it’s best to rest your voice so that you don’t get laryngitis.

  3. This is like my 15th time to visit your blog today. I keep thinking you’re going to break down and post a poem for me. :) Hope you’re enjoying your mental break … and laundry.

  4. I can’t imagine growing tired of the sound of your voice. But silence is good. Stifling the megaphone lets one enjoy the crickets.

  5. “I’m thankful for a Creator who keeps leading me beside still waters, knowing I need this flow for my own sanity, creativity, and well-being.”

    …and your talk of nature…yes, my heart is won over…. *sigh

    So special…this entry is so endearing…you never fail to touch my heart with your words, De. I know what you mean though…I irritate the heck out of myself sometimes too! ;) Just know you’re super loved though my friend!!

    I’ve been so busy and I’m way behind in the poetry world…it seems but I so appreciated your kind words to come home to tonight, De.

    Thank you so much for your beautiful words!! Warm blessings to you!

Use your words.

