Nicest. Acceptance Letter. Ever.

This was waiting in my email inbox when I got back from Utah:

..

Hi De Jackson,

After reading your submissions I have one question: Where have you been hiding?  These are absolutely, without a doubt WONDERFUL! I want you in the August issue of Tuck and if you are a performance poet on  youtube please send me the link. If you are not, seriously consider taking your poetry to coffee houses or busking because you  are damn talented. Oh I loved these! Send along a fifty word third person bio and a bio pic in jpeg format sent as an attachment so that I can share art in Tuck. Thank you so much!

Best,
Val

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Nicest. Acceptance Letter. Ever.

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    In other, more humorous news, I had to Google “busking.” ;)

    • The most famous buskers were on the pavement in old London, entertaining the long lines of theatergoers awaiting their tickets. See “Sidewalks of London” with Vivienne Leigh (before she was Scarlett) and the inimitable Chas. Laughton, whose specialty is reciting… POETRY! (Including Kipling’s “If”) A slice of life, with some surprising moments of clairvoyance about the fate of the profession from an old lady… Amy

  2. Mary says:

    Congratulations, De!! It is so rewarding, isn’t it, to have one’s talent recognized. So….what IS ‘busking’?

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Ha! Glad it’s not just me! It’s street performing. In other words, I suppose, just standing out in the street and reading my stuff. Like that’s ever gonna happen. ;)

      • I didn’t know either!!! That would be fun to do in a group!!! I’d love to do that with YOU and some others, De!!!

        My heart just bursts with heartfelt pride over these well deserved words to and about you and your writing, De!!! I agree 111% Yes and added 11 cause that’s my lucky number and I consider myself lucky that I can call you my friend!!! You inspire the heck out of me BIG time!!!

        You are BeYouTooFull, (still a great find this word, heh?!) and you live it everyday!! A true authentic poetess!!

        ((Hugs)) to you!!

  3. sorrygnat says:

    hooray, validation, talent, going on the road! best to you!

  4. What an awesome letter! I know your heart did flip flops over that. :)

    I think you would make an excellent busker. Let’s talk wardrobe options, shall we?

  5. Your poetry was made for busking – it’s so lyrical the way the words dance over each other. I’d listen for hours–maybe we could do some improvisational violin backed poetry :)

  6. heatherdaygilbert says:

    LOVE THIS!

  7. Happy for you, De, congratulations! There’s plenty more nice letters on the way, just keep submitting!
    P.S. Had no idea what “busking” was :-)

  8. Congratulations — so deserved! I would have never guessed what “busking” meant, except that it was paired w/ coffee houses. Kind of like husking corn, shedding your words on the street, I suppose? :)

  9. pmwanken says:

    *\o/* YIPPEEEEE!!!!!

  10. Sara v says:

    That is the best acceptance letter ever!!! And so well deserved too :-) :-) :-) Thank you for sharing it and for saving me a trip to Google for “busker”. Think I’ll share that word with “Rhyme Me A Smile”
    Hugs and a huge happy dance for you!
    PS if you ever did start a YouTube reading, I’d be first in line <3

  11. thatjustinguy says:

    Hooray for seeing the obvious. There is hope for the world!

  12. rashmenon says:

    congratulations! this is indeed terrific!

  13. Lindy Lee says:

    Validation is cool; good for you…

  14. The letter everyone dreams of and you actually received . . . So fabulous, truly. Congratulations and congratulations again :-)

  15. What a fabulous and well deserved response, De. Good luck!

  16. Well, it’s about time for someone in the publishing world to mail a response to a submission that simply glows! Good for you, De, and let us know when it comes out. You deserve all success! Love, Amy

Use your words.

