Absolutes



Muffled,
we sizzle back
the language of numbers,
single
-digit equations
hoping to be multiplied
by the right power.

We argue
the existence of zero,
stomping hell
-o algorithms
……….just
to keep our place.

 


Wordled.

 


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Absolutes

  1. The above is just weird (the comment and web site, not your poem!) Of course your poems deserve to be disseminated in Slovakia. Or perhaps that is just his name. In any event, weird, weird weird.
    Let me focus on the poem now!
    The first stanza reminds me of how I felt on many a math test.
    “the existence of zero” is in and of itself is an interesting proposition. And in any event, the second stanza would have been my reaction to many a math test as well! Algorithms are beyond my ken. But I love what you have done with the ideas here!

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Right? I can’t figure it out. Keep getting reblogged over there. I’m not a big fan of reblogging without asking first, honestly.

      I adore math words, and loathe math. ;)

  2. oldegg says:

    This took me back a few years. I didn’t have trouble with zero I had plenty of that in WW2 and I still got by. My brain was starved when letters were introduced into math. This led me to an artistic life!

  3. Shawna says:

    Fantastic! I love this! Especially the opening:
    “Muffled,
    we sizzle back”

    So here’s what I see: Someone has gone through a breakup and is now single and ready to get back into shape (“Abs-o[r]-[g]lutes”) and cut up a bit: get some phone numbers, go dancing … but not get into too much trouble because this person wants to remain “just” and to keep his/her place, spiritually and socially. Again, this could really be about anything. Those are my faves!

  4. Love this. I remember hoping to multiplied by the right power. He’s in my life now, in more ways than one. Thanks De.

  5. Jae Rose says:

    Fine use of mathematics..an absolute delight ;)

Use your words.

