Open Palms

Open Palms – photo by my amazing talented friend Hannah Gosselin

.
We raise them high,
these trees and I
in praise of sun and
and plea for healing
rain. We wave them,
empty, pray for fill
of breeze and peaceful
rays; hold still, and
soak up all this open
sky. We gaze on high,
these trees and I.

.

Written for Imaginary Garden with Real Toads. To let more of Hannah’s gorgeous photos inspire your pen, click here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Open Palms

  1. Gerry Wilson says:

    Lovely photo, lovely poem, De. Nice start to my Sunday morning. I’ll go over and have a look at more of Hannah’s work, too.

  2. This reads with the serenity of a prayer.

  3. hedgewitch says:

    There is a great peace here–thank you.

  4. sorrygnat says:

    I love Hannah’s work- good way to start sunday morning btw

  5. rosemary mint says:

    My love, you have forgotten your closing parenthesis in your comment invitation.

    I was confused above, as I thought both the poem and photo were Hannah’s. However, now I’m thinking the poem is actually yours. You might want to clear this up a bit.

  6. Leave love indeed…De, my heart fills with these prayerful filling-spilling words. You’re such a blessing. Thank you for writing this. <3

  7. Archna says:

    Love is a good thing to leave…behind, for someone else to find. :)

    And your words, with Hannah’s photo, are the type that I want to sing to one of my children as I tuck them into sleep. A little bit of harmony. Thanks!

  8. Laurie Kolp says:

    Beautiful metaphor, lovely image of praying, the trees and I (I love that).

  9. Anne Katherine says:

    I love trees, as well as this poem and picture!

  10. SaraV says:

    Love the phrase
    Pray for fill of breeze and peaceful rays
    Wonderful poem Hannah–tried to leave a comment over at imaginary toads and couldn’t find this poem..love the felted fiddleheads too! :-)

  11. Lindy Lee says:

    Trees cleanse the sir we breathe. Praise be to the trees…

  12. Herotomost says:

    Felt a little like I was praying while I read this. Very uplifting and strong. Great words.

Use your words.

