Salvage

Still Life, 1670, detail by Jean François de Le Motte

 

………………………………She sifts through the wreck
……………………………………………………………………..age-old remnants of all that’s sacred
………………………………………..scroll of wandered wave
……………………………………………………………………………..length of her heart’s sealing
………………………………wax and wane of moon
…………………………………………………………………..beam and bane of sea.

.

Visual prompt from The Mag.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Salvage

  1. markwindham says:

    I like the shipwreck theme, had not thought of that but very appropriate.

    And…CONGRATS on the Curio Pub!

    Oh, thanks for stalking and mentioning.

  2. brian miller says:

    nice….really cool line breaks in this…in the middle of blended words….enchanting little verse…

  3. danadampier says:

    I love the way you presented this… exceptional just like your writing!

  4. ihatepoetry says:

    Def will leave love for this. Very well done.

  5. Old Ollie says:

    great imagery, and I like the flow of your poem as well…it sounds good

  6. SueAnn says:

    Love your verse! Nicely done!
    Hugs
    SUeAnn

  7. Tess Kincaid says:

    Lovely…I had to read this out loud for full effect…

  8. I SO love what you do with words, De!!! You write of matters of the heart and emotion better than anyone I know!! The alliteration throughout and your word choices brings a smile to my lips always!! Super stoked that you’re a poet…I can’t imagine poetry without your heart in it!! <3 to you!

  9. whimsygizmo says:

    Thank you all, so much. Crazy day but hoping to get all of your ways soon. Tess, yes, it is meant to be read out loud, and what I’m hoping worked out is that it can be read by way of the line breaks OR straight on through, changing the phrasing slightly. The end of each line can run into the next for a new phrase. And now I’ve ruined it by overexplaining. Ha.

  10. Lovely interpretation!

  11. Anne Katherine says:

    Really cool what you do with words!

  12. SaraV says:

    De I love how you wove those words to break and have two meanings, single and compound! Very cool and clever–this poem was very fun to read out loud

  13. Little Nell says:

    This is clever in so many ways; alliteration. word-breaks, sea-theme, rhythm – and nicely connected to the prompt picture. Excellent!

  14. brenda w says:

    Nice one, De. You play well with words. The formatting on the page….it could read wreckage, or wreck age. You know that, you did it. Brava!

  15. seingraham says:

    beam and bane of sea – you do indeed play well with words, did I mention I’m envious? good stuff de

    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.ca/2012/06/love-letters-of-promises-and-regret.html

  16. Josh says:

    Wow. Sound and word play. I was reading it aloud to, to hear the phrases and the transitions. Now I’ve gone back and read it ‘both’ ways per your comment. Nice bit of work.

  17. rosemary mint says:

    I so love the ending:
    “wax and wane of moon
    beam and bane of sea”

    • De Jackson says:

      I figured you’d like the line breaks. ;) wreckage, wavelength, moonbeam

      • rosemary mint says:

        I would have loved them had I noticed. I’m rushing a bit, knowing how behind I am. If I were only reading one poem in a sitting, I would certainly have noticed. :)

        That is insanely creative and beautiful in a tragic and sad kind of way.

        Love this too:
        “her heart’s sealing
        ………………………………wax”

Use your words.

