Kayak Dawn

Let’s stir
…………….the blue;
oar-soar
……………..out to center,
inhale this pink frosting
………………………….sky. Let’s fly
just you and I
…..on indigo spilled wings
…………………………..and forget the world
has other things to say
………………besides
…………………………….Be Still.

Let’s run
…………………….and race the sun
and kayak kiss
……………and breathe in
………………. bliss and
be.

Let’s go, because we
…………………….know the flow’s not
through
……………………….until the blue
………………………………………………stirs
……………………………………….you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kayak Dawn

  1. Oh man, I really love this. I want to learn how to kayak. My thing is road and mountain biking. But the feeling you expressed is relatable. Across the board. You said it perfectly.

  2. Janet says:

    …the blue stirred me as I inhaled the tranquility. thank-you

  3. Abbie Taylor says:

    I like the way this poem makes me feel like I’m floating on a peaceful lake at sunrise.

  4. PSC says:

    Oh so true! I Was right there with you — being stirred by blue! :-) Nice, De!

  5. Sara v says:

    Oh dear, Pam beat me to it.. always stirred by blue:-) Exceptional poem!!! Read it to my honey and we both got a smile. Thank you De! <3

  6. Really great line breaks! I love how you make this multiple poems. On one level, this is about you and your husband having sweet time together. On another, it’s about you and God. And on another it’s about you and the sky (the flying part of yourself) running away together to make magic.

    I hate the idea of you inhaling pink frosting, so that line kind of freaks me out. That would be so painful. But since it’s sky, I guess it’s okay. I love that you begin this line with “sky,” though, so that it can be about flying with different entities.

    “sky. Let’s fly
    just you and I”

    Love this:
    “and forget the world
    has other things to say”

    I LOVE this ending!!!
    “know the flow’s not
    through
    until the blue
    stirs
    you” … Maybe you mean until it stirs him as well as you (because you get stirred easily and always first). Or maybe you’re talking to yourself. Love that this touches back to the opening stirring.

  7. First…so cute that your soles look as if they’re reaching to meet…so stinkin’ cute and romantic!!!

    I was confused …it was because I commented on this image in fb land…hehe….now for the poem…

    This:

    “inhale this pink frosting
    ………………………….sky. Let’s fly
    just you and I
    …..on indigo spilled wings”

    Love this…so magical.

    Kayak kiss and all of that stanza…love it!!!

    This one is really so very, very special. Thank you for sharing with us, such a precious moment!

    xoxox

Use your words.

