When water comes together with other water

and the rain pours down
pure and cold and clean
into this lurid lakey sea,
I chain my soul
to droplet, drench
and stir and steep
my blues into quiet
hues I can cradle, keep
and use to paint
my own corner
of the sky.

 

..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When water comes together with other water

  1. markwindham says:

    I chain my soul
    to droplet

    now, that is enjoying the rain…hold on to those blues, we anticipate their use…

  2. This one’s beautiful De. I love the whole thought of it. I’m sending the link to Chloe; she’ll love it too.

  3. I can’t tell you how much I love your title.

    Wow, I this is beautiful:
    “I chain my soul
    to droplet, drench
    and stir and steep”

    That’s exactly how I feel when it rains … like I am it … chained to droplets … inside droplets … only then they land and break apart into nothing, only to dry up the next day.

    If anyone can paint a corner of the sky, it is you. :)

  4. PSC says:

    Paint away my friend! Enjoying the vicarious ride! :-)

  5. How much longer do you have? I assume it’s about time to come home. :(

  6. Did you see that I have a new word list up? Any chance you’ll write me a poem? I’m sure you can write about mushrooms floating in water or making stew out of mushrooms and water. I have no doubt you can add water to the list and make magic. :)

  7. Sarav says:

    Very beautiful! Love the “paint a corner of the sky” Love it!

  8. ihatepoetry says:

    This fell as gracefully as beautifully as a leaf into a stream. Wonderful.

  9. “I chain my soul
    to droplet,”

    Oh, my dearest De!!! You KNOW I just adore this!!!

    Quite fond of the pondering of this too:

    “hues I can cradle, keep
    and use to paint
    my own corner
    of the sky.”

    Yes, keep them precious and use them…love it!!!

Use your words.

