True North


is blue
but west will do
tumbled dusk and
salty toes dug in deep.

Saltwater secrets
steep on tangled tongue
Lake ache staved
by compass spun
once more,
she centers
soul
and swims
for shore.

Prompt and photo credit at Poets United.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to True North

  1. carolisle says:

    True north is one of my guiding principals or should I say seeking it. Beautiful

  2. I’m going to keep my comment short in order to make Mark happy. But I do have to point out the clever word play between your title and first line. They are good friends, I can see (“due north,” “true blue”).

    Love this:
    “Saltwater secrets
    steep on tangled tongue” … I could go on and on about it. But I won’t.

  3. Ella says:

    Wonderful…I grew up enchanted by the bay! Your poem takes me there..so beautiful~
    Thank you! :D
    Gorgeous imagery…you never disappoint~

  4. Mary says:

    Beautifully written. Again, I appreciate your word choices. My favorites:

    “Saltwater secrets
    steep on tangled tongue”

    As Ella said, you never disappoint.

  5. Sarav says:

    Really enjoyed this–especially the end–

    she centers
    soul
    and swims
    for shore

    We were both water driven, (and focused on “true north”) on this prompt. Hope you enjoy it :-)

  6. Lindy Lee says:

    Do you know the exact location of this photo? “True North” is a great write, again you intrigue…

Use your words.

