The Graffiti of Grace

2011-02-25 at 16-21-12

You write it on
doorposts
and bridges
and walls
and inevitable falls
and failings.

You paint it in
sunrise
and sunset
and across star-stung skies
and in the tattoo
of shadows.

You stitch it into
hearts, tiny etched
mendings,
sacred scars.

It is
radical
and ridiculous
and readily available
and we forget
and we cheapen it
and we take it
but forget
to give it.

It is
free
and we’re found
gently loosed and unbound;
but we forsake it,
and forget
to live it.
…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

119 Responses to The Graffiti of Grace

  1. The timing of your words, my dear De, are always so spot on. He truly uses you as a poet to sing His glory. As you must have been composing this, I was sharing of a vision of God’s grace as a red thread mending our broken heart pieces… and the performance art piece that I’ve envisioned.

  2. Linda E.H. says:

    we must be on the same wave-length. I’ve been working on a “graffiti” piece myself.

    Good work here, De.

  3. Sabra Bowers says:

    Thought provoking poem, De. It is a keeper.

  4. ihatepoetry says:

    This is perfect and simply profound:

    “It is
    radical
    and ridiculous
    and readily available
    and we forget
    and we cheapen it
    and we take it
    but forget
    to give it.”

    I can tell that (by my estimation) you get it. – Much respect, Mosk

  5. ~s says:

    Oh man, that is a gorgeous photo. I LOVED this poem when I read it in my e-mail, and of course I still do. 🙂

    This is so awesome:
    “and in the tattoo
    of shadows”
    I want a new tattoo. Do you think I can get one without anyone noticing? Because of the little one I already have, my kids are always asking when they can get tattoos … which, of course, makes my husband frown. So I have to tell them I made a dumb mistake when I was young and I completely regret it (then roll my eyes at myself because that’s a total lie; I really just want more more more). 😛

    Gorgeous:
    “You stitch it into
    hearts, tiny etched
    mendings,
    sacred scars.”

    This is such a fantastic present for my ears:
    “It is
    radical
    and ridiculous
    and readily available”
    I also love the rest of that stanza.

    I sort of want a pause between the last two lines. Maybe you should break them up with a space and let the last line hang on its own, creating a double meaning: 1) we forget (everything He’s done for us) and 2) we forget to live it. You see what I mean? It’s just what my ears are saying to me. 😉 This is so good, sweetie. Exellent!

  6. Your title says it all…..Congrats on being FP! 🙂

  7. dnlsrl says:

    Awesome post de! I loved your rhythm in this piece of pure poetry 😀

  8. dnlsrl says:

    Reblogged this on Hasta Que mi Corazón Explote… and commented:
    Una pieza de poesía que encontré en el blog de De J. Disfrútenlo 🙂

  9. I especially like to read it when I go to the restroom. You find the silliest stuff written on the walls.

  10. scribblechic says:

    Gorgeous, from the title to the last line. Seamless perfection.

  11. northernmalewhite says:

    my old jumper
    untied
    your graffiti
    yes
    grey
    the world of love
    a smell i heard

    thanks.

  12. Soul Walker says:

    I really like this. I am glad you were freshly pressed.

  13. nicholeck says:

    “inevitable falls and failings” “star-stung skies” “the tattoo of shadows” “sacred scars”
    You have a wonderful way with words and sounds! Just dreamy!

  14. This poem is beautiful. It’s so universal and well written. Prefect. Fantastic.

  15. jn1010 says:

    Thoroughly blessed by your word art and photograph.

  16. Goodness, gracious great drawls of grafitti, I like this so much I’ll just have to share it! Love the photo too!
    Reference for the word play on “drawl”, as your poetry has really drawn a timely word picture here for me, thank you for sharing:

    Word Origin & History

    drawl

    1590s, probably from M.Du. dralen, E.Fris. draulen “to linger, delay,” apparently an intensive of the root of draw. Related: Drawled; drawling.

    Online Etymology Dictionary, © 2010 Douglas Harper
    Cite This Source

  17. Ritu KT says:

    Awesome Photo, Fantastic words. I am so in love with this post (the way it’s possible to be in love with a blog post without being weird).
    Congratulations on being Freshly pressed!

  18. K Cutler says:

    So in love with this I read it three times in a row. “…and in the tattoo.of shadows.” So lovely

  19. K Cutler says:

    Reblogged this on stranger-with-stories and commented:
    In love with this poem by De Jackson:

  20. K Cutler says:

    Would it be ok if I reposted this poembto my blog (giving you credit and posting a link to your blog)? Too beautiful not to share 🙂

  21. Gautam Sudev says:

    wow..awesome read..got any inspiration for writing this up??

  22. oribabrave says:

    The rhythm rhymed with my heartbeat!
    What more can i say?

  23. Really nice! i like it! 🙂

  24. Jeff says:

    Beautiful poem and photo. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

  25. WOW! definitely wow!! such an awesome creation. 😀

  26. Pingback: Holy Cats | Whimsygizmo's Blog

  27. Ed Ju says:

    Amazing poem. Can you let me know what you think of mine? http://wp.me/p3fr1w-i

  28. Marcela Cava Balsa says:

    Nice poem!

  29. Ella Haining says:

    I just love this one.. awesome poem..

  30. nanc says:

    Really lovely!

  31. kiwiskan says:

    Love the poetry. Love the intention

  32. sagescenery says:

    Beautiful!! Thank God for His Grace…I’m reblogging this on godssceneryandpromises. I love your photo, too!! Is that the pier in Venice, FL???

    • De Jackson says:

      Yes. The view from the beach by Sharky’s. 🙂

      • sagescenery says:

        I knew it!! I use my photos to make cards and I have photos of that beautiful pier in the sunset from when my sister came to visit me from Brooklyn…We just sat there on the beach after eating at Sharky’s…and soaked in that beautiful light show in the sky! Breath-taking!! Love your shot!!

        Hey, have you ever gone to the Doggie Beach next door? We took our Crazy Siberian once when she was a puppy!! Craziness! I have a whole post about that trip! Ha!

        God Bless!

      • De Jackson says:

        We live in Nevada, so we always fly to FLA. My great-Aunt lives in Englewood. We’ve seen that beach, but never visited, or taken a pooch. 😉

  33. sagescenery says:

    Reblogged this on godssceneryandpromises and commented:
    This is beautiful! God’s Grace and God’s Scenery!

  34. kimmyg01 says:

    Such a lovely poem!

  35. Such a lovely poem. Simple words yet so enchanting…

  36. Reblogged this on Blog My Life Away and commented:
    I love this! It is beautiful and the poem fits so well with the photo. I also really like structure of the fourth stanza. I never thought to try anything like that and would like to experiment with it in my own writing.

  37. davidcprice says:

    Really love this piece. Thanks for sharing.

  38. marymary says:

    So beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  39. jennifer014 says:

    This is simply beautiful 🙂

  40. A. Mittal says:

    Very deep ! Nice work

  41. jimceastman says:

    It is such a nice post and quite impressive. Wonderful meaning! God’s grace is truly amazing! Well deserved in FP and congratulations!

  42. Simply liked it..awesome read.

  43. audrey4040 says:

    This was beautiful. Your poem was the first thing I read this morning while still laying in bed. Thank you for such a delightful awakening.

  44. David says:

    Awesome! Congrats De!

  45. The photo grabbed my attention immediately, as its from my home town of Ventura.
    I beautiful image as i far from that very spot. Germany to be exact!
    Do you live in Ventura? Or just visiting? I miss it!
    Cheers

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Thank you, Patrick, but the photo was actually taken in Venice Beach, Florida. We visit about every other year.
      I have also been to Germany (Bitberg), years ago when I was 13. It is beautiful, too. 🙂

  46. Lisette Defoe says:

    I have never written poetry, but my daughers both have. I only posted a couple so far, recently. You are talented. Keep growing in your talent.

  47. Pingback: Something Found | A Path of Living Stones

  48. priancaj says:

    Very well written!

  49. Steve Austin says:

    Reblogged this on Grace is Messy and commented:
    I love a good poem…and one about grace is even better! Happy Monday!

  50. dancinmoma says:

    Very profound and beautifully written….

  51. glo says:

    I’m new to the blogging world. Your words imprinted my day. Thank you for giving this avenue.

  52. well said…. good post…

  53. Joel Cole says:

    Reblogged this on Xbox live codes Generator and commented:
    nice shot!

  54. relaxing post…. 🙂

Use your words.

