{parenthesis}



the best gesture of my brain is less than
your eyelids’ flutter which says

we are for each other

……………………………..– E. E. Cummings, since feeling is first

.

don’t blink,
love
i think
{i} love

……………….you.

close your eyes,
love
the skies
above

………………..{know.}

look out below,
love
the fall burns with

…………………{truth.}

 

.
Prompted by OctPoWriMo, day 5.
Read E.E. Cummings’ whole poem, since feeling is first, here.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to {parenthesis}

  1. The Real Cie says:

    My late father introduced me to the works of e.e. cummings. You capture his style beautifully!

    Thank you for visiting us at poetryofthenetherworld dot blogspot dot com

  2. Grace Black says:

    Love cummings and you’ve found a twist that is uniquely yours. Your poems never disappoint!

  3. Hedera says:

    “I think-love you.” How gorgeous is that?!

    For me, this bubbles up: “You, your eyes know.” Sometimes the only thing in the world we really “know,” is our own eyes, our own “self.”

    “Don’t blink; I think I love you” should be in a song. Also, it must be said by a lunatic who changes her mind/mood very quickly, because she can say she loves you and then be gone by morning.

    The title says “Pair, in Thesis.” This is about a couple that is so much more than an essay, or a brief paper. They go on and on and on … probably because of “don’t blink …” weirdness.

    Looking up to the skies/God/nature is the answer to every question/problem. And then there’s the looking down (toward Hell/the fall/suffering) in contrast. Love is both. It’s the constant cycling between heaven and hell, with those being emotional-locations.

    The burning truth/leaves imagery is striking. In one way, we’re getting rid of the old, and that which is holding us back/down. In another way, we’re creating an incense of what was, perhaps to usher it what’s to come.

    I absolutely adore this line break: “the best gesture of my brain is less than” … It says worlds and worlds. Like, “I walk away because I’m not good enough.”

  4. Hedera says:

    I hope you’ll write a lot today. I really need it.

    P.S. I was wondering this morning if you had ever written a 3D poem. You know, one in which there are 3 De’s. 🙂

  5. ihatepoetry says:

    Wonderful – it’s all very sweet until the burn. That’s when you know its really about love.

  6. I love all the meanings this poem can have “I know truth” – the reference to the fall… or it could just be about all that “love” that’s in there.

Use your words.

