Lady, I swear.

It’s raining flowers.
It’s raining flowers.
The world will never be the same.
The world will never be the same.
Flowers will never be the world.
The same: It’s raining.

I am the walrus.
I am the walrus.
This too, shall pass.
This too, shall pass.
The walrus shall pass.
This too: I am.

Will you hold this sky for me?
Will you hold this sky for me?
The day has lost its spin.
The day has lost its spin.
You will hold the day for me,
its spin. This sky has lost.

I am raining the sky, its same spin.
Hold the day; be the walrus.
The world shall pass this, too. Has.
Will you? This, for me, will
never flower.
………………….It’s lost.

 

 

..
Holy cow, this was hard. This is a paradelle, as prompted by OctoPoWrimo, day 16. Billy Collins invented it as a parody, a joke (a stringent form with seemingly impossible rules) and it caught on. Head on over and read about it, and read what are sure to be some better examples than this one. If you try it, I recommend keeping the lines short, and choosing a noun or two that can also be a verb. Whew.

The title, of course, is inspired by E.E. Cummings. 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lady, I swear.

  1. Shawna says:

    I read Grace Black’s earlier this evening, and it does look like a difficult form.

    “I am raining the sky” … I love this. Also, “I am the walrus.” 🙂

  2. I like “the walrus shall pass” – I hope so. This does look complicated. I am totally impressed with that last stanza. I would have just lined up the words like a train…. it would have been hard!

  3. ghostmmnc says:

    This one is great! Love it! I was too chicken to try it today, but plan on it when I have a lot of time. It looks hard, but fun how it turns out! 🙂

  4. Grace Black says:

    Oh, you’ve done this with your classic style. Love it! This one was difficult for me. One I don’t think I’ll pen again. haha! But it’s always fun trying new forms!

Use your words.

