The Futility of Fluttery Fingers

..

Some days
………I sit
at these keys
for hours,
……only to find
they don’t unlock
……………anything at all.

 

...
What do I miss? The ease of writing. The urgency of getting some amazing down on paper before it’s gone. It’s been awhile. Prompted by Mary’s awesome prompt over at dVerse

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Futility of Fluttery Fingers

  1. Ah.. yes that is something we might miss.. isn’t it funny when you almost know, the words will just cease to come.. like a tap that’s closed.

  2. Sherry Marr says:

    Oh I LOVE this. Keep tapping: If you keep tapping, words will come, to paraphrase Field of Dreams. LOL.

  3. That sure is a loss too! Great perspective!

  4. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Lovely execution of the prompt 🙂

  5. Mary says:

    Oh, I hear you on this, De! It becomes more and more difficult to find that inspiration. It was once much easier……

  6. I have been missing my routine of writing but dverse keeps making me try out poetry! Great lines keep going.

  7. But you still wrote this and it’s good. So you did unlock a little something even if it was just yearning.

  8. I get this one, I do! I’ve been there so often. Another part of that is finding time to unlock. Why are we so busy?!

  9. Grace says:

    I know what you mean De ~ And awesome title too !!!

  10. This is perfect and it happens to all of us.

  11. kaykuala h says:

    It may not be writer’s block but still a similar ramification on a smaller scale perhaps!

    Hank

  12. Bodhirose says:

    Oh have I been there…maddening!
    Gayle ~

  13. Victoria says:

    I hate it too, when the words won’t come. At least you have words for the lack of words. “Fluttering fingers” is an image that pleases me.

  14. MarinaSofia says:

    What a clever take on the prompt! Ah, yes, I too miss the ease and fluency of just jotting down ideas and phrases… but it will come again, fear not.

  15. Shawna says:

    I love that this is layered, because obviously there are different types of keys. I’m picturing a woman with a key ring filled with jangles, attached to her jittery fingers. Maybe this has to do with love and being able to unlock the right doors, or maybe it has to do with “finding home.” This could be a metaphor for so many different kinds of doors.

  16. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Nice twist on the prompt, De. I write my first draft in longhand, & though my pen hovers sometimes, waiting for the words, usually I just start writing the first hazy thought, & the magic pen just shifts into gear, & more words come pouring out; always amazes me, even over a 1000 poems later.

  17. kanzensakura says:

    chinmouko – the space between the notes or raindrops or words. Simple and stunning.

  18. Ah I get this totally. No one can tell you how to unlock them, being so personal. We can only share what works for us. For me, when I got really stuck a few weeks ago I started carrying a little notebook or a hunk of paper stuffed in my purse when I went out. It seemed that the ideas came at unusual and inconvenient times 🙂

  19. Today you unlocked a little something with those keys. This was wonderful. Peace, Linda

  20. Smiles.. i never
    think about the keys..
    they sing without that..
    and if they sing
    out of
    tune
    so let it
    be this too..:)

Use your words.

