the delight of rain on quiet ground

..

i am found
in silence and slanted sky,
the tilted why of breeze. i am scent
of indigo waters, fallen drops dolloped
in hope and heaven. i am seven
seas and silvered moon, the pull
of wave and whim and while.

i am lost
in swirl of sigh; the thirsty when
of arched limbs, the murmuration
of a satisfied swallow. i am
filled with salt and sun, scattered
wonder. the plunder of tum-
bled ocean, the lullaby of lake. i am
forsaking all worrier tendencies
for warrior pose and wandered prose,
the brutiful broken shine of
I Am.

 

..
Written for Sanaa’s “perfection” prompt over at Prompt Nights. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to the delight of rain on quiet ground

  1. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Oh De this is beautiful!! 😀 especially love these lines:

    i am
    filled with salt and sun, scattered
    wonder. the plunder of tum-
    bled ocean, the lullaby of lake.

    Thank you so much for your kind participation 😀 means a lot to me.
    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  2. Sumana Roy says:

    this identity of “I” is perfection itself…

  3. Marie Elena says:

    Ohmigosh this is one of your finest, loveliest, most poetic ever. My word, De … a true poetic soul, and broken redeemed daughter of the great I Am. ❤

  4. I am found – I am lost… beautiful poem of self in God.

  5. Gorgeous God-undertones throughout. Great line breaks, drawing out hidden meanings, like “I am sent,” “doll-opt,” “I am 7 [years old],” “the pool,” “the murmur ration,”

    “satisfied swallow” Ha. Good trip, eh? 😉

  6. Annie Newcomer says:

    ” i am
    forsaking all worrier tendencies
    for warrior pose and wandered prose”, I especially enjoyed these lines. I might suggest for your consideration inverting the two stanzas the second, first and first, second so that it ends with being found ” i am found” and not lost which seems more hopeful. Beautiful work. Enjoyed very much. Delightful alliteration.

  7. tsdwords says:

    Just the title makes me sigh with contentment! Such lovely words, you are all that 🙂

  8. Wonderful, I’d say, delicious imagery. We are waiting for long hoped for rain in the California desert tonight and throughout the week.

  9. sreejaharikrishnan says:

    such a beautiful poem…..you filled us with lovely images…

  10. Your poem blew me away. Been away from writing poetry so long I’ve forgotten how beautiful yours are.

  11. What a beautiful expression of “I am.” Lost and found in the glory of life

  12. water is definitely perfection in any form: ocean, rain, lake, etc. I’m impressed.

Use your words.

