A Confluence of Sidewalks

.

I know nothing of burning,
crossings, suspension. Only
the bend
of elbow crook, that thieving
curve that stole me
from myself, that long long
shelf of
…..(shifting sand)
land that leads to sea,
the inner
ear place that tries to
keep me
equal. Yet

(for, nor)
we have our own ways
of spanning silence. Tunnel
me under
(but, if, although)

……(pause for the long, slow slide)
asunder me something
worth finding
on the other side.

Selah. 

 

..
The one where Margo has us contemplating conjunctions

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Confluence of Sidewalks

  1. Olga says:

    Brilliant! Loved it immensely.

  2. Sienna says:

    I totally thought your explanation at the end said “conjunctivitis,” which is no fun at all.

    All your poems are awesome. Total perfection. I don’t even know what to say anymore, other than to tell you my favorite lines, which are these in this case:

    “Only
    the bend
    of elbow crook, that thieving”

  3. Love how you added the inner ear place!! Excellent as always…I love where this took you…and the rest of us…thank you!

  4. Misky says:

    A “thieving curve” — gosh, what a brilliant phrase. Well done, De. >

  5. “elbow crook” “thieving curve” yes, and “the inner
    ear place that tries to
    keep me
    equal” Well pretty much all of it 🙂

  6. julespaige says:

    Selah… the bridge to Amen?
    Interesting title. Reminds me of a road here where five points meet.
    Very confusing 😉

  7. margo roby says:

    I revel in your work, de.

  8. whimsygizmo says:

    {and thank you ALL, so much.}
    I struggle for new ways to say thank you, constantly, so many times I err on the side of awestruck, thankful silence. Know that your comments are always, always appreciated…many days, breath itself.

Use your words.

