Waiting Rooms & Measuring Spoons

I have measured out my life with coffee spoons. – T.S. Eliot

 

..

Holding quiet breath and pouring another
cuppa. Hear the clock? It’s mocking us.

Tick tick ticks me off, really, all these little
boxes awaiting checks. All these unbalances

breathing down our necks. All.this.weight
-ing. Emergency! (Oh, no, not really. Just

triage, a little spilling of skin.) Recovery: two
steps forward, three cups back. A lack. A tea

spoon. An angry moon. Nothing more than
one more click of silence. A spoonful of sugar,

a swirled black sting. Just the thing: a band
-aid and a smile. Two itchy inky fingers of rum

-bled phrase. A vein. Perhaps a smallish gather
-ing of crows, or prose. I suppose limbo is just

another place we pause, gather ourselves back
into puddles, from rain. Stop. Spill me, again.

 

 

Linked up over at dVerse, for Open Link Night. Come read some amazing poets! 

 

 

..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Waiting Rooms & Measuring Spoons

  1. idiotwriter says:

    Stumbled on your poem at Writers Digest. Yup. 🙂
    Very terribly lovely!

  2. Mary says:

    Enjoyed this! Been there in the waiting rooms…! Like the idea of limbo being just another place we pause.

  3. We need to be able to enjoy waiting… sometimes it’s not bad at all… on the other hand, that stirring of cups can be a sound that increase tension quite a bit…

  4. I love the wordplay in this. My waiting is always calmed by a good book on my Kindle.

  5. Bryan Ens says:

    Love how the meaning of the end of one couplet is completely changed by the first word(s) of the next. Wonderful word-play!

  6. Misky says:

    I love your couplets – charming and meaningful and jolly. Very well done.

  7. Abhra says:

    Ah – I think that the clock mocks me too – very often…

  8. ShirleyB says:

    Admirable use of word-play that keeps the poem’s momentum strong to the end.

  9. Grace says:

    Hate waiting in those rooms but love the idea of limbo of just

    another place we pause, gather ourselves back
    into puddles, from rain. Stop. Spill me, again.

    Great work on the word breaks too De ~

  10. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Beautifully crafted ❤

  11. thotpurge says:

    Recovery: two steps forward, three cups back….. So good!!!

  12. jaybluepoems says:

    beautiful couplings, and excellent word play… fun to read. Nicely done.

  13. daisy chain says:

    Just the title tells me all I need to know. She’s a “waitress” in her own home, waiting on people in every room of the house. And she’s measuring the “spoons” that take place in her bed. Romantically, if you get what I mean. Taking the pulse and temperature of her marriage, in other words.

    I love your “Opposites Attract” word play … on the Paula Abdul song.

    “A lack. A tea
    spoon. An angry moon. Nothing more than
    one more click of silence. A spoonful of sugar,
    a swirled black sting. Just the thing: a band[on]” … I think this is about fighting with your spouse.

    In the end, she’s just pulling herself together, trying to figure out how to make everything work out the way it’s supposed to.

  14. MarinaSofia says:

    What a clever use of line breaks – and a staccato, impressionistic way of conveying the fragmented feel of waitign rooms. Great poem!

  15. I’ve always loved that Eliot quote and now your poem gets us in that waiting place. From one waiting room to another we measure our lives!

  16. lillian says:

    Love the word play….love the couplets. Been there in the waiting room — ugh….and the triage — lovely sounding word for a frustrating tick tick ticking me off! 🙂

    Very well done! So enjoy everyones open link poems — fun to see how heads work in different ways with complete freedom 🙂

  17. vronlacroix says:

    I hear the seconds ticking away, too many. Your rhythm and words brings me to that situation.

  18. Oh this is all too familiar to me. I was in a lab waiting room this afternoon. I am definitely not a patient person.

  19. kanzensakura says:

    Your words just always create new worlds. tick tick ticking me off….I had to sit in a waiting room Monday and there was big round clock on the wall. Something was cafloozled in its inner workings. The hour hand constantly ticked between 12:05 and 12:07 The time never changed, just back and forth. I sat there watching it untl I was tempted to go stand on the chair under it and smack it or pull the hands off. One woman finally threw a cold cup of coffee at it and I stood and thanked her very much. Yes, tick tick ticking me off. Wonderful poem!

  20. Smart phone saviors
    oF red lights
    and
    waiting
    rooms
    standing
    in Line..
    too..
    never
    a dull
    moment
    with Facebook
    antics.. candy
    crunch
    and
    poeTry
    for me..
    and sure
    some ‘other stuFf2’..:)

  21. tamekamullins says:

    This was so playful. I loved the pace. I see writing colliding with daily life. Lovely.

Use your words.

