Dancing Naked in an Electrical Storm

..

Nothing
to see here.

I have grown
comfortable
with the tempestuous
nature of thunder.

You can count
the scars in my tempered
skin against this angry sky,
trace them with your fingertips
and steal their sylla
-bled stories.

I am simply
inviting lightning
to strike
…….(twice)
these elegant
hands, stand hair
and heart at attention,
restart my withered
heart,
and

shock me
back to
life.

 

 

..
Mama Zen has us counting words over at Real Toads – 77 or fewer, to be exact.
Come play! 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dancing Naked in an Electrical Storm

  1. Wow.
    Be careful what you poem for…
    it could be ad-
    verse.

    Randy

  2. Mama Zen says:

    This is electric, De. I’ve been longing for a little bit of that lightning, too.

  3. Candy says:

    a shocking way to light up the night 🙂

  4. ManicDdaily says:

    Ha! Be careful! Clever and vivid. k .

  5. Sherry Marr says:

    Wowzers! This is wonderful!

  6. Jim says:

    Living on the edge, De. Like a boxer, waiting for the punch that sets him/her off. As an older one who loved to run in the rain (though only in circles in my back yard when naked) I love this one. Double message.
    BTW, (literal now) I have a friend who, as a teen was stricken by lightening. So was her friend, who was killed immediately. My friend is now deathly afraid of lightening storms, for sure she doesn’t want to be hit twice.
    ..

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Oh, my goodness, Jim. That’s crazy. We met a woman last year whose boyfriend was killed by lightning. Such a bizarre act of nature, really. I’m so sorry for your friend. I can imagine the fear is intense.

  7. Helen Dehner says:

    ~ never too old for lightening to strike … again and again.

  8. When we get comfortable around nature (ourselves and thunder), we truly lived! This is wonderful. 🙂

  9. Kerry O'Connor says:

    I love this poem!

    I have grown comfortable with storms… That’s a line I wish I had written.

  10. I have heard that the lightning never strike twice in the same place… ZZZZZiPPP

  11. This is awesome!! Shocking, in fact! Couldn’t resist!

  12. Bekkie says:

    Sounds like something I could use about now….I’m actually afraid of storms though.

  13. Victoria says:

    I love the challenge of this…though the naked part, not so sure. Scare off the storm, perhaps.

  14. othermary says:

    Oh, I love this as metaphor and literal. Great image of a wild woman.

  15. Mary says:

    Sometimes lightning has an unpredictable effect! Shocking back to life is an example!

  16. Dancing with lightening hoping for it to strike twice..love it!!

Use your words.

