the gravest one

(the smallest sense of things that melt on tongue)

..

they say
no two
are alike.

you, me.
sky. sea.

give me a light
….ing any day.

epitaph for a sunrise: stay.

one: this snowflake.

………two: my heart.

.
Kerry has us pondering E.E. Cummings, snowflakes and micropoetry over at Toads. What could be better? 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to the gravest one

  1. C.C. says:

    Divine. Especially the epitaph for a sunrise bit. Utterly divine.

  2. Jim says:

    Great write, De. Enter the marriage of Sunrise and Sunset (my idea, I like sunsets, they aren’t so early). May we enjoy them forever, no burials, please stay.
    I like too, your use of the ‘one’ and ‘two’ although there is a mystery there for me to figure out. Not an outline system, is it? I didn’t understand Cummings’ use either, there was no ‘two’. Meaning “this snowflake and my heart?” Maybe the engineer in me is coming out again?
    ..

  3. Kerry O'Connor says:

    This is just beautiful, De. Such a light touch, with incredible depth of emotion.

  4. This is absolutely perfect. Especially love
    you. me,
    sky. sea.

  5. kim881 says:

    This poem reminds me of a short guitar or saxophone solo – bliss!

  6. Misky says:

    Charming, and heartwarming.

  7. You’ve put so much passion and meaning in such few words. Wonderful.

  8. ManicDdaily says:

    This is wonderful–quirky but also precise and universal (in best of ways.) k.

  9. gillena says:

    This is a lovely juxtaposition the uniqueness of the snowflake and your love

    Have a nice Sunday

    Much love…

  10. Sherry Marr says:

    THIS is WONDERFUL! Very cummings-y, too.

  11. Rommy says:

    The line, “epitaph for a sunrise: stay” just pulls at my heart. Really beautiful.

  12. Bekkie says:

    This was fun and beautiful at the same time.

  13. Gorgeous, de…I love the way your choice cause me to stop and think. 🙂

Use your words.

