Stuck {bubblegum blues}

Double Dutch, double-dog dare,
red rover foursquare and a
playground how do you do? 


(How many licks does it take?)


Well,
Bazooka Joe ain’t got nuthin’ on this
Hubba-Bubba hunk
of
blue raspberry bubbled trouble
………………goo
now barnacled to the bottom
of my shoe.

 

..
Double-bubbling for dVerse. Come play!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Stuck {bubblegum blues}

  1. Em says:

    I retract my statement. There’s NO WAY I’m writing for this prompt after reading what you guys have already come up with. 🙂

  2. I might not be so aware of bubblegummia, but I think I got a trip back in memory lane… They where named Bugg, Jenka and Riff as far as I remember… Hubba Bubba came later… (now I might have to write a bubble gum poem)

  3. Very good De, its such a fun topic to write on….great prompt…

  4. Victoria says:

    Well, this was a trip back in time. I love the fourth-grade sound of this one that has planted a smile on my lips.

  5. Grace says:

    That is sticky messy to have that goo stuck at the bottom of the shoe ~

    How fun De ~ I think you brought out all the child-like side from us with this prompt ~

  6. Waltermarks says:

    Yup, gotta be careful around the merry go round. Lots of stuff gets launched off of it. Bazooka Joe would be proud

  7. Bodhirose says:

    Super fun, De! I loved all that bubble gum when I was growing up and I loved reading the little comics that would come in the wrapper. Who would think that one little word could make so much fun…you picked a doozy, De…thanks!

    • whimsygizmo says:

      REMEMBER? The comics came IN the wrapper, right? I think now they ARE the wrapper. Just like Hershey’s. There used to be a sleeve, then the silver foil. Now it’s all one thing. Sigh. I feel so old complaining about things like that, but c’mon! Some things aren’t to be messed with.

  8. ShirleyB says:

    Urgh! nothing worse than gum on your shoe – but I could chew on poems like this ’till my jaws ache 🙂

  9. This is delicious! I knew bubbles could be fun, but this is beyond any thing I imagined. I love the sounds your poem makes, the pictures it paints, the giggles it bursts from my gut!

  10. C.C. says:

    Oooh…..”barnacled” is the absolutely most perfect word to describe this hot mess 😛

  11. Sumana Roy says:

    uh oh…sticky mess in the days of innocence…

  12. Oh you brought back the “real” in childhood! Thanks for the flashbacks….sticky gum an’ all!

  13. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    LOL

  14. Bryan Ens says:

    Oh that bubble gum sick to the shore …what a pain!

  15. vbholmes says:

    I agree with C.C.–barnacled is a great word for the adherence of that pesky lump of blue goo on the bottom of your shoe. Fun read.

  16. Ah.. bloWinG
    bubble gum
    SonGs
    air me
    out..:)

Use your words.

