Backyard TripTik

..

I grab my coffee, because essentially I am a steam engine at heart. My notebook, because ink is fuel. I am not going far, but these things are important for the journey. The ruffling of the ash and the mesquite and the flowering plum are my playlist. A hummingbird joins my sojourn, but only briefly. She has places to be. Only the clouds and my indigo fingers mark my hours. My destination is here. My arrival time is now.
..

the trees whisper songs,
spring their tales to a sky
still waiting for the snails.

 

..
Hai, there. Due to a two-day “sigh-graine” (sinus headache plus migraine), I missed Haibun Monday over at dVerse. Catching up today. 


This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Backyard TripTik

  1. cayn says:

    Insanely good.
    Especially this: “the mesquite and the flowering plum are my playlist”

  2. I love this… it’s like you really describe the moment these words came in place… I can see you there with your notebook writing it all down.. Love steamengine at heart with ink as fuel… a sky waiting for the snails is a wonderful image.

  3. second line is gold! Nice prose and haiku!

  4. Grace says:

    I can feel your excitement & I love that the hummingbird joins your sojourn but only briefly ~

    I also love the use of “spring” in your haiku ~ Hope you are feeling better De ~

  5. So nice and entertaining!

  6. thotpurge says:

    Oh wow..that’s just gorgeous writing…

  7. HerE now sinGs
    statioNary..
    ‘copter…

    cycles..
    humming
    wiNgs..:)

Use your words.

