Fool(ish) Dragon

..

Give her an inch, she’ll take a
mile and you can hang your hat
on the corner of her smile
like a crescent moon dimple.

She’s impish,
and skimpish when it comes to
threads,
ever glad to be
scantily clad
in cobalt sky.

She’s greenish (and mean
-ish if poked, or provoked);
she’s bespeckled and -spoked in
starlight. She’s a bright spot

in this dark, dark deep,
in these secrets we keep
in closet, pocket, binder, file.

And at her center: a flourish
of fire.

 

 

..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fool(ish) Dragon

  1. So I turned to wade the low tides and realized the razor clams knew I was bare footed…

    I love this…makes me think of this song…

  2. Shawna says:

    Hee hee. I love it when you write about me. 😉 I HAVE MISSED YOU.

    You know what I think “hat” means. :X
    Also, in the title, my eyes flick flicker and fluke fool-shy dragon, which is super adorable. And you’re so right, the thing I most terrified of is looking like a fool. Well, scratch that. I don’t mind acting a fool, cutting up, and being a big goof for everyone to laugh at. I just want to do it on my terms, knowing what I’m getting myself into. I don’t like to be startled with unanticipated foolisms.

    hearty heart heart heart for this line: “like a crescent moon dimple”

    “She’s impish,
    and skimpish when it comes to” … hee hee

    threads = tee-hee reads … And that’s you, my love. You ALWAYS make me want to write! You make me feel okay with being me, rather than making me feel inadequate. Thank you for always loving me the way you do.

    And of course, I know the “she” is actually you. But I always find myself in you.

    “ever glad” … very clever reworking of Everglades.

    “She’s greenish (and mean
    -ish if poked” … sooooo true

    “she’s bespeckled and -spoked in” … I love all the hidden meanings that you tucked into this line.

    “She’s a bright spot” … Grazie. I don’t feel like that very often, but it means so much to me that you think so … even if this is really you. Which it is … most definitely drenched in starlight, my beautiful girl.

    “flourish” … Your long-hanging words always keep secrets. Here, I see “F-lure-I-shhhh”

    I was SO excited to see this magic pop up. Your dragon poems are always the BEST.

    • whimsygizmo says:

      You KNOW all my dragons contain your fire. 😉

      • Shawna says:

        I used to know. But I think I’ve lost my fire. 😦

      • whimsygizmo says:

        Me, too, this week. But we’ll be back. We always come back.

      • Shawna says:

        We do. We will. We’re just tired, and so sucked dry by our “real lives.” We just want to play, but we don’t have the energy. And I don’t know about you, but I’ve lost my words. There’s just something about having a new-to-talking 2-year-old that drastically saddens my vocabularic capabilities.

      • whimsygizmo says:

        Oh, man. I wanna borrow him. I’ll trade you Zacharys for awhile. Mine is a bit sullen, and slovenly. (I know, I’ve oversold him. 😉

    • whimsygizmo says:

      PS: “saddens” = sad dens. Let’s decorate ours with fairy lights and periwinkle sparkles.

      • Shawna says:

        Have I told you about my fascination with foil? I like to crinkle it up and tape it to things. So let’s do that to the walls. And if you wrap it around ceiling-fan blades, it makes the most heavenly noise while you sleep.

        I want to find the snide-fairy inside me, give her some air, and more share than keep.

      • whimsygizmo says:

        Oh, YES. The fairy lights will shine delightfully off of the foil.

        By the way, your last sentence WAS a poem. 😉

  3. Kir Piccini says:

    It was like a romp through language. It bounced on my tongue. Loved it. ❤

  4. Oh my god, I become more and more of a fan every day! I don’t wanna skip any of your posts now. The words roll in my tongue. Great exercise, if you ask me. Haha! Mentor me!

Use your words.

