Dissonant Dance


He said the world was flat
– pancake flat without the syrup sweet,
wasteland flat, desert flat.

Absurd, that.

She said the world is round,
all indigo swirl and slight moon curl and flag unfurled
with pinpricked stars to light our swoopy way.

But when they held hands,
they lived somewhere
in the in between
lands.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dissonant Dance

  1. Shawna says:

    I love this “she” of whom you speak.

    Also, I really like what you did with the word “flat” … all that repetition is very effective and makes my ears feel all dancy-dancy. 😉 Not diss-o-“(fancy)-nancy”-dancy, but you know what I mean …

    How much do we love Fancy Nancy books, by the way??? ALLLLLL that glitter and vocabulary-art, my word. I am in heaven when I’m reading them. Also Purple-icious and Pinkalicious. Feeling a little giddy just thinking ’bout ’em, actually. 🙂

    “swoopy” is suddenly my favorite word

    If I were you, I would snip the ending, and just say “… somewhere in between.” But you wanted to say something with “lands” on its own line, which makes me think they’re birds … with hands. So now this is mythology.

    • whimsygizmo says:

      One of ’ems a bird…remember the thing, “A bird can fall in love with a fish…but where will they live?”

      I’m not crazy about the “in the in between” thing, either…hmmm….

      • Shawna says:

        Yeah, yeah, I do. It crossed my mind as a possibility. I dunno, I like it blurry. I like to invent my own stories inside of poems … obviously. 🙂

  2. Shawna says:

    You remember that movie, He Said She Said? That was awesome. This is a great prompt. You’ve popped out some fantastic stuff for it. You still writing?

  3. Candy says:

    Ooooo, Ahhhh!!

  4. Jeff says:

    That’s beautiful!! ❤

Use your words.

