Meet Jan

She’s December’s darker sister, un
-spangled, decked only in broken
resolutions and a disturbing con
-stitution of boxes stacked side
-by-tired-side and waiting.

She’s too long and too dull and too
disassembled and too far in debt
to resemble anything
but gray.

She’s born with a (woohoo!)
party, then hung over
a door, closed with a sigh.

 

 

..
NaPoWriMo, day 4

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meet Jan

  1. Misky says:

    Oh, sooo clever!

  2. Boy, truer words were never spoken!

  3. Hey! It’s my birthday month you are dissing, De, but yes, I love this. My brother is a December baby, too, so there’s that added knife to the gut. ha! This was a fun read. Difficulty selecting a month sent me surreal with this prompt.

  4. Oh, yes! A perfect picture of January.

  5. othermary says:

    Wow, this is spot on! I love the places where you’ve divided words at the end of lines to give a little added meaning. This is a very smart poem. Still, I prefer Jan to February, lol.

  6. ihatepoetry says:

    I tried to write this as a poem called “The January Hangover” – this was much better. Loved, Mosk

  7. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 4 – “The Truth In The Triviality” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Use your words.

