{Sevenling: I have wished}

..

I have wished upon
broken shoelaces,
falling coins, fading stars.

The world is braiding
itself back to primary: red,
yellow…blue.

Maybe it’s time to color outside the lines.

 

..
I’m hosting Meeting the Bar later today over at dVerse. This is a Sevenling.
Wanna learn how to write one? The Bar opens at noon, PST. 🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to {Sevenling: I have wished}

  1. Misky says:

    Yeah!! I love sevenlings. I’ll try to find my way to dVerse this evening. 🙂 >

  2. kanzensakura says:

    Yes, sometimes instead of “thinking outside the box” we need to color outside of the lines instead. The first stanza of wishing brought to mind a line I read in a book ages ago – people praying for one and one not to equal two…. excellent work. Thank you for this prompt!

  3. hypercryptical says:

    Colouring outside the lines is good – go for it! Thanks again for introducing me to this excellent fun form.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

  4. Mary says:

    It is always more interesting to color OUTSIDE the lines!

  5. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Such a gorgeous sevenling ❤ ❤

  6. I love that final line. Brilliant sevenling.

  7. Bryan Ens says:

    Thanks for introducing this form. Lots of fun! Let’s all colour outside the lines!!

  8. Bodhirose says:

    This is a fun prompt, De. Thanks for encouraging our inner child to color outside the lines just like she always has done anyway!

  9. Grace says:

    I love coloring outside the box De ~ Well I am in 🙂

    Thanks for another fun form to play with ~

  10. Oloriel says:

    Yes, always colour! Not just outside of the lines, outside of everything else as well 😀

  11. ghostmmnc says:

    Cool poem, De! Make it an original by coloring outside the lines…much more fun that way! 🙂

  12. Beautifully said. What can I say but to smile and agree?

  13. lynn__ says:

    Love your sevenling…i was thinking of colors too 🙂

  14. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Sevenlings are joyous to write, for sure; I love yours, the creative complexity of the first stanza shines trinity green as the primary colors mix in stanza 2, & your twist ending is killer.

  15. A nice flow this sevenling! It is good to counter Writer’s block!

    Hank

  16. kelvin s.m. says:

    If we could revert back everything to basic… then maybe we could start a new beginning.. or perhaps a better one. 🙂

  17. Pingback: Artistic Practice – A Sevenling | petrujviljoen

  18. Almost the only advice I gave students when I was still teaching – to spill the colours.

  19. lillian says:

    ooooh I love this! Definitely always a good thing, to color outside the box — creativity and a little bit of guts too! 🙂

  20. Barry D. says:

    Coloring outside the lines really ties this poem together (pun not intended).

Use your words.

