August and Everything After

You try to tell yourself the things you try to tell yourself to make yourself forget.
– Counting Crows

..
We sat on the hood of your car like it was our own Little Bighorn, and I finally told you once and for all the dozens of things that had sat and rotted on my tongue for months. And your answer, Space Man, was to ask for some breathing room. As if you had been inexplicably crowded by your own brooding solitude over the past year. As if I might hold some tether I did not know how to let go of.

I wish I could say it was the last time I saw you, but it wasn’t. I wish I could say I told you goodbye under all those stupid stars, but I didn’t. Not yet. But when I kaleidoscope back now, the pieces fall together with a nearly audible click, and that was the first one. Your constant silence. My dying heart. An ebony sky spreading across the lake like a mourning song.

The moon spills over
a noisy desert owl
questioning no one.

 

 

.
Toni has us pondering communication and silence for our Haibun Monday. Come play!

 

 

 

 


 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to August and Everything After

  1. Oh my–the tragedy of being in a one-sided relationship–so well expressed. Using “our” desert is such a powerful metaphor for what you express here. And the haiku–the owl!

  2. tamekamullins says:

    There are so many juicy lines in this!

    “that had sat and rotted on my tongue for months,” “when I kaleidoscope back,” “ebony sky spreading across the lake like a mourning song.”

    I live for the way these words are constructed!

  3. ZQ says:

    Sad… well written.

  4. hayesspencer says:

    This is awe inspiring in its complexity and beauty. And that haiku….oh my heart. I so enjoy it when someone takes one of my prompts and blasts it out of the universe. I believe this is one of the best haubun I have read. Thank you.

  5. kim881 says:

    Oh my goodness, De! Have you been rooting around in my memories? This is so familiar, it punched me in the gut.

  6. Sumana Roy says:

    this is profound…constant silence is a metal bolt denying entry….ugh….

  7. lillian says:

    So many lines I like here….especially “An ebony sky spreading across the lake like a mourning song.” and this “for all the dozens of things that had sat and rotted on my tongue for months”
    I’m right here, with this Space Man……..quite a memory and so well told.

  8. lynn__ says:

    Wow…fabulous writing! “Space Man” may be a euphemism for alien?

  9. Mary says:

    Sometimes it takes a long time to FINALLY know that it IS time to say good-bye! Eventually those pieces DO fall together, and we know what must be done. A powerful haibun, De~

  10. Well done. I love this line: “I finally told you once and for all the dozens of things that had sat and rotted on my tongue for months.” Those things unsaid not only rot on the tongue, they can sour the heart.

  11. Grace says:

    I love how you unfold a story, and this ending packs a punch :

    Your constant silence. My dying heart. An ebony sky spreading across the lake like a mourning song.

  12. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Powerful writing, moving story, sonorous poetry. I found ‘the dozens of things that had sat and rotted on my tongue for months’ particularly striking. The haiku is a beautiful conclusion.

  13. I don’t know where to begin here because I love it all, including the perfect title. Your word choices are always so interesting….” And your answer, Space Man” and ” kaleidoscope back”. These little tidbits are scrumptious!

Use your words.

