Puff

..

Just like that, your childhood’s gone. Be
-fore you ever got to frolic in the autumn

mist, or anything. Before you’ve found a
proper dragon to share your sealing wax

and strings. You paint your wings and you
sing your song, and before you know it,

Paper’s gone.

(like so much dandelion fluff.) 

Don’t worry, Puff. I’m no Jackie
Paper. I’m not moving on. I still
believe in magic. And really,

what could be
...better than a
...little house
by the sea?

 

..

Guest host Stacy over at dVerse has us pondering folk poetry. Come play!
Song inspiration for mine is here

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Puff

  1. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    This is so enchanting De ❤ especially love the image of the little house by the sea 🙂

  2. Grace says:

    Too soon, we all grow up but hopefully we still believe in dragons and magic ~

    Love your words and that video…puff the magic dragon 🙂

  3. PSC says:

    Awww… sweet! 🙂

  4. I love this! The Puff the Magic Dragon song always makes me tear up.

  5. Waltermarks says:

    It reminds me of flying a kite at the beach. When we were kids, we made kites from old kite parts and glued paper. Thanks for the memory!

  6. Miss Stacy says:

    oh my gosh, i love this.
    puff the magic dragon! love that storybook. i have a vintage copy somewhere.
    the part about the paper being gone…so whimsical and witty.
    thanks for writing with my prompt today! 🙂

  7. Bodhirose says:

    I always loved “Puff, the Magic Dragon” by Peter, Paul and Mary! Love your take on the folk tale, De…fun as always.

  8. Shawna says:

    I am the only person in the world who gets all of this, and you are a poetry genius. What you did with that a, b, c, and implied d(e) at the end … and the rolling papers, good heavens … well, I’m applauding.

  9. Oh I love the line-breaks. Reminding me a little of a stumbling toddler until that paper’s gone. I never grew up with Puff, but so much of my childhood I have to dig up in my childhood for.

  10. brilliant – time to paint our wings

  11. Mary says:

    De, this is very touching! Always loved the song, and love what you did with it. And true..what could be better than a house by the sea!

  12. lillian says:

    De, love love love this! And when I read the line “(like so much dandelion fluff.) ” I let out an audible sigh. I so enjoyed the song Puff the Magic Dragon — and then to tie it to childhood. So very special. Nostalgic I am!

  13. I always liked that song as a kid, and never understood it. But it was part of my childhood

  14. Oh how fun. I know which song will visit my insomnia tonight!

  15. Misky says:

    Boy oh boy, isn’t that the truth!

  16. Bryan Ens says:

    Childhood leaving isn’t so bad if you can still believe in magic.

Use your words.

