17 American Sentences (that may or may not make sense)

..

When it comes to grocery shopping, I’m a bona fied full-cart girl.
Poetically, not so much: give me 12 items or less, some space, please.
Wordy drawn-out sentences present me in southern drawl, chaos crawl.
Whitman had his leaves, of grass, of nature’s beauty, of himself, of time.
Me, I do not want to purr in thankfulness or vast benevolence.
I want short sips of gratitude, long gulps of ardent skysong sigh-lence.
If I have already confused you, you might as well stop reading now.
It’s not gonna get any better as we trip along these  l o n g  lines.
They’ve got all the time in the sky to spill, but I wouldn’t hold my breath.
Each one is a wee slow death, and I long to breathe, and leave myself be.
Hindsight might be 20/20, but we’ve got plenty of eyes to see.
Seize the day they say and carpe diem to you, too, true blue – blue moon.
I swoon over spaces, places to pillow my phrase, whimsy my way.
Play is pithy; pity we don’t do it more, score ourselves some rare smiles.
Some poets have miles and miles and miles to go, but I’m a soul sprinter.
Splinter a phrase, fracture all fragments for days, skip the iambic, quick.
Long lines are peanut butter on the roof of my mouth, laid on too thick.
..
Written for NaPoWriMo, day 27

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 17 American Sentences (that may or may not make sense)

  1. Misky says:

    I love American sentences, and you’ve done them proud!

  2. Pelican1 says:

    I love, love, love this poem. Long lines are a pain but you handled them well. I like the alliterations and internal rhymes and the neat things you did with some of the ends: “southern drawl, chaos crawl” is my favorite.

  3. Shawna says:

    “Play is pithy; pity we don’t do it more, score ourselves some rare smiles.”

    “Long lines are peanut butter on the roo mouth, laid on too thick.”

    Hearts for these. 🙂

Use your words.

