skipping stones

….

we toss them
…………one-by-one, watch them
…..softly shatter the Lake.

..some slip-slip-slip,
smooth as
…..silk. others kerplunk! with
……………….rippled rings.

we have things
…..to say, small
………words that need gently
thrown. but seeing
that mirrored sky
break open stone
……………………….-by-stone,
…..we decide to skip
…………………….. it.

 

..
Toni’s hosting over at dVerse today for our Quadrille. Come play! 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to skipping stones

  1. kanzensakura says:

    Oh I love this….I knew you would write something wonderful for this word. “shatter the lake”…and the all out throwing upon the “mirrored sky”….joyous abandon….

  2. jillys2016 says:

    The single capitalization of Lake is intriguing – causes me to read and read again. (My home town is on one of the Great Lakes, so I connect.) Nice sound devices!

  3. Oh I love how you contrast the two stanza, letting the first stanza become a metaphor for the words we skip… simply brilliant.

  4. blogoratti says:

    Interesting piece,greetings!

  5. This is such a great take on the prompt. I mainly really like how you structure it. I feel like the structure tells the story. Great job.

  6. I was never any good at skipping stone; getting better at the little words. Very nice quadrille. I love how the formatting enhanced the visual of the skipping stones.

  7. Shawna says:

    softly shatter the L/ache (love ache)

    The first two lines of the second stanza have a sweet jazz beat behind them.

  8. SMiLes.. some
    nowsmaLLest
    stONEs end uP skipPinG
    aCross wateR
    MaKinG
    KATrina
    and the
    wAVEs..
    SinG a SoNG
    oF Fearless Love..
    OG.. i just then
    wRote a 338,630
    word Free Verse
    Novel.. truLy
    thiS shorter
    Poe story
    try stuff
    iS sO
    fUn..
    top to
    bottom
    and
    top
    aGaiN..:)

  9. Patti says:

    Beautiful. I especially like the final stanza. Some days are just too lovely to waste.

  10. ihatepoetry says:

    Loved, esp knowing how some stones need to be gently thrown.

  11. Grace says:

    I love the sounds your words make on the page and in my mind ~ I specially love: softly shatter the Lake.

  12. Bodhirose says:

    I like the idea of the words being gently thrown…yes, we should choose them carefully and deliver with a gentle toss. Lovely thoughts here, De.

  13. This makes me thing of childhood days. Well done.

  14. lillian says:

    ….we have things to say…..and comparing the words to skipping stones — some gently and hopefully none hurled. Really love this one. Excellent response to the prompt.

  15. lynn__ says:

    A fabulous poem, De! I never got the hang of skipping stones but I did write poem on a similar theme recently: https://madhatterpoetry.com/2016/03/31/perfect-skipping-stone/ 🙂

  16. Candy says:

    the little words we don’t throw are sometimes the most important. Glad I didn’t skip reading this

  17. kim881 says:

    After the sounds of the first two stanzas, that final stanza is so peaceful – like the pebble is skipping the water without any sound at all. Calm and relaxing. Sparkling.

  18. I like the way the shape echos the words

  19. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Wonderful, where you took this.

  20. So much wisdom in this one, De. Choose carefully. I wouldn’t mind printing this and sticking it on the wall as a reminder.

Use your words.

