South by Southwest

I am found
in the desert place
with a Lake ache
deeper than blue. I am
solid skin dry heat shaman shade.

Sunset me a
crimson sky, cloud
shroud a nearby mountain
crest. Point me true north. I’ll
try my best to hieroglyphic
my way home.

 

..

..
Over at dVerse, Mish has us pondering the southwest. As a resident of Southern Nevada, I live in a gorgeous place. But that doesn’t mean I don’t crave true north. 😉 (Lake Tahoe) 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to South by Southwest

  1. Shawna says:

    Oh my, how I love this:

    “I am solid skin dry heat shaman shade.
    Sunset me”

  2. Sunset me a crimson sky… Wonderful.

  3. Grace says:

    I love each line…specially: Point me true north.

    And use of sunset as verb ~

  4. Janet says:

    you had me with Lake ache(the nest ache in the world)…mine is the color of Lake Huron:)

  5. love the ‘lake ache deeper than blue’

  6. therisa says:

    De, the last line of the first stanza and the second last line of the second stanza, are pure poetic gold, you have written. Only wish, I could write something so unique and original, like that. Just one of these two lines, would make the perfect hook, to any poem, but two? Just amazing.

  7. Charley says:

    Okay, first off, I LOVE Lake Tahoe! One of my favorite places on Earth (so far).
    If I have to pick a favorite line — or lines:

    Sunset me a
    crimson sky, cloud
    shroud a nearby mountain
    crest.

    Perfection!

  8. Keeping it true blue.

  9. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Lake ache
    deeper than blue.

    Sigh ❤ so lovely!!

  10. ihatepoetry says:

    Sitting in my over-air-conditioned office, your description felt good.

  11. Oloriel says:

    I have come to adore your wording, such as the one used in this song, the images you weave feel so vibrant and real.

  12. jillys2016 says:

    The voice makes my skin just jump! Love this!

  13. Mish says:

    Every word of this shines. I will never forget Lake ache….

  14. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Tahoe is magical, but with each passing year it becomes more tourist trap-py; progress, I guess. All my favorite lines have been mentioned & honored, and there are several of them. I don’t know why, since the Sierras stand over Death Valley & the Mojave, but Bishop, Virginia City, Tahoe just never feel like the “real” SW to me.

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Glenn, Tahoe is very far north. It’s my “true north” mentioned above. Virginia City is up there, too. We down here in the southwest, near Vegas. 😉

  15. kanzensakura says:

    Point me true north. I’ll
    try my best to hieroglyphic
    my way home. Oh my goodness. Yes and again, yes.

  16. Truedessa says:

    Well, I have to love a crimson sky. sunset me one of those…

  17. Candy says:

    this is just fab!

  18. kim881 says:

    I have fallen in love with that phrase ‘a lake ache deeper than blue’!

  19. Khaya Ronkainen says:

    Every word so beautiful and every image so vivid. Lovely!

  20. Bryan Ens says:

    I’d tell you my favorite lines, but then I’d just be repeating your entire poem. This is absolutely gorgeous!

  21. lillian says:

    Well, I am late to the pub here — on my second cup this morning — so all the wonderful lines have been mentioned. The words here are wonderful. So few words — so much beauty and feeling. Truly wonderful!

  22. lynn__ says:

    Favorite phrases: “Lake ache deeper than blue”,”sunset me” and “cloud shroud”…love how you paint the desert with words!

  23. Patti says:

    Your words give a sense of wearing the desert, the best way to experience it.

  24. Misky says:

    Wow. What a phrase! “solid skin dry heat shaman shade.”

  25. I know that longing! Sometimes (not often for me) eating sand in a windstorm made me wish for “true North’!

  26. Oh, I love this, De. You play with verbs in such a wonderful way, and synesthesia, too. Two of my favorite poetic devices.

Use your words.

