Wholly Kissing

(a Golden Shovel, after E.E. Cummings)

..

The whole world’s gone crazy ever since
the moment we all decided feeling
just might be fact. Fact is,
we’ve all got these first

things, these wonderings: why and who
and what. Unphrased, it seldom pays
to mention a thing, the sacred any.
Hey, are you paying attention?

 

..
Just a quick bit of fun for dVerse Open Link Night. This is a Golden Shovel (find out how here), after E.E. Cummings. Read his whole poem here

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wholly Kissing

  1. Listening? Yes. And watching the kiss. ♥

  2. Charley says:

    I am indeed paying attention to a wonderfully crafted play on Cummings… cummings. You caught his drift but made your own particular way with this poem. Applause.

  3. jillys2016 says:

    You pay wonderful tribute to ee with this poem! ‘the sacred any’ really captured me. (Whenever I start to feel too ‘sane’ or ‘normal’ I read cummings and I am cured!)

  4. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Beautifully sensuous ❤ ❤

  5. Michael says:

    Yes I am, I thought you gave me much to contemplate…

  6. Grace says:

    Love the title, form and yes, I am paying attention ~ Have to play this one again De, thanks ~

  7. Mmmmm! Love this cummings: “for life’s not a paragraph . . . And death i think is no parenthesis”.
    And I LOVE your shovel, most especially: “The whole world’s gone crazy ever since the moment we all decided feeling just might be fact.” And . . . well, if I keep going I’d have your entire poem pasted here. Brilliant!

  8. Hey back atcha. Yes, I’m listening. Feeling might be fact – on the other hand feelings can lead us astray!

  9. Yes I do listen… and yes I will use my shovel again and again…

  10. Misky says:

    I love this. Aren’t Golden Shovels fun.fun.fun?

  11. Bryan Ens says:

    Love that first sentence. We get ourselves into so much trouble because we assume that what we feel is fact.

  12. A philosophical depth I appreciate – makes me want to run to Old Wisdom – to pay attention to it.

  13. PSC says:

    Love it! Love the original. Love what you did with it. You’ve got this golden shovel form all tied up in a bow. 🙂

  14. Bodhirose says:

    Love those Golden Shovels…it’s so cool what you came up with here. I think we need to pay more heed to our feelings and less to our “rational” thoughts.

  15. lillian says:

    Oh yes 🙂 You’ve got my attention here! Digging this 🙂 Smiling I am with a double e!

  16. Mish says:

    Feelings and facts can definitely become entwined. I like how the last line seems to poke out of the poem to speak to the reader. Love, love, love the Golden Shovels!

  17. Mary says:

    Ha, your words have got me going here! I’d say FEELING definitely IS fact. If we don’t have feeling, what do we have!

  18. kanzensakura says:

    Hey! Yes!!! Loved this Shovel. A super tribute to cummings and a great poem on its own by you.

Use your words.

