Laundry

There’s a lost sock again, and I am beginning to think there are elves in my dryer, off somewhere now having a Sock Hop. Once upon a time I folded tiny socks, onesies, bibs. Today I dump baby moose-sized clothing into clean baskets, and announce that it’s all ready to be put away. (Teenaged groan. Teenaged. Grown.) In just a few weeks all these clothes will go straight from basket to suitcase, straight from desert to my Lake. But today I revel in the modern marvels of gentle agitation, air conditioning, and a fresh pair of yoga pants.

..

Indigo stained sky;
a bleached bone moon folds into
a spin cycle sea.

..
It’s Haibun Monday over at dVerse, with Toni hosting. Come play! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Laundry

  1. Patti says:

    Oh, there are definitely elves, or maybe gremlins, in the dryer. I enjoyed this.

  2. thotpurge says:

    That haiku is a stunner…every word of it!

  3. Lost socks are so Murphy’s Law! Ahh…modern marvels–what would we do without them!? I love that “spin cycle sea.”

  4. kanzensakura says:

    The haiku is indeed a wonder of beauty. Bleached bone moon….that is just luscious.

  5. kim881 says:

    Oh, I love that haiku!

  6. Love the tangle of images here and your humour which we can all relate to – I have a tissue monster in my machine – the haibun took me by surprise with its imagery and the way you linked it all together in a cycle 🙂

  7. People have been writing beautifully about the more mundane aspects of their lives. This is well-crafted as always.

  8. The way you have reused the laundry metaphor into the marvelous haiku is pure genius… and I do know for a fact that there live sock consuming lobsters in all machines..

  9. Grace says:

    Would you believe I still do my teen’s laundry and folding as I can’t stand the pile of mess ~ Enjoy the time now before your travel ~ Love the imagery of the moon folding in ~

  10. jillys2016 says:

    …and you hold your breath until that Lake… Love the imagery!

  11. Fun look at laundry but then the Haiku–breath-taking.

  12. Bryan Ens says:

    love how you tied laundry into your haiku. Brilliant!

  13. Bleached bone moon – what a fantastic image. Haunting.

  14. kaykuala h says:

    Improvements and new ideas always at hand these days. One just needs to be aware and is saved from ‘trouble’ of the old ways!

    Hank

  15. lillian says:

    oh….sigh….did you hear my sigh? I made it, outloud. LOVE this! Haiku is perfect here 🙂
    and oh those elves having their private sock hop! If you find a navy sock with red dots at that sock hop, let me know! 🙂

  16. Oh, I’ve been there/here where you are now! They grow so fast from those tiny clothes to grown up clothes, don’t they? Beautiful haiku!

Use your words.

