a thousand shards of cobalt glass

(singing her blues)

10346050_10152550901078415_5763774232362402392_n

..

she is all in
-digo skin and turquoise
streak, stitched denim in her
wanting. her Lake

ache is strong, but she belongs
here, steeped in this desert

sky. do you feel the tremble of her
veins? they’re beginning to mold
themselves strange
around these tumble
-weed days, find ways of
flowing fin against all this
beige. break

her open and you’ll find her
salt, her center, her quiet
place, cobbled together
by shades
of grace.

 

..

Tomorrow, I am hosting Poetics over at dVerse, and pondering my favorite shade.
The bar opens at noon, PST. I hope you’ll join us! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to a thousand shards of cobalt glass

  1. Shawna says:

    I’m so frustrated with myself. I feel like all I have to say is “I love this!” “This is awesome!” Boo. I suck at commenting.

    But still, this is so … awesome.

    Your line breaks are always so good, for meaning, but also for drawing out rhymes. You kill it with that like no one else I’ve ever read. Your ability to control rhythm is mad-solid.

    That title, man. It’s just … wow.

    I’m so “Maddie Ziegler” on So You Think You Can Dance? … not the most articulate judge I’ve ever seen. 😛

    I see “steepled in this desert” as well.

    I adore this line: “sky. do you feel the tremble of her[?]” Also, “do you feel the tremble of her sky?”

    Also, love what you did with “mold” and “weed.”

    I love “salt her center” … like, turn her into a margarita, and gulp.

    Those last two lines … yup. You got it, girl.

  2. Kir Piccini says:

    I love when you write the ‘blues’.

    Xo

  3. Grace says:

    Such gorgeous imagery of the lake, specially the ending lines De~ I will break her open and inhale her center and quiet place. Word and line breaks are amazing ~

  4. kanzensakura says:

    This is one of your best. Laking is obviously good for you.The description of the lake and inner self – just gorgeous. I agree with Grace – line and word breaks are breathtaking

  5. DArker blues of deep and death
    liGhter blues of hiGh and birth..
    Ocean blues never
    ending
    hOlding
    morE noW
    Colors SinG
    More when
    open SonGs
    BoLd.. noW
    i love the
    color blue and
    oh yes.. blue is what
    ‘they’ nAMe as A sim soc
    color of artists nAMe.. saD
    song blues and liGhter hues
    of Ocean wHole.. SpRinG liT for i..:)

  6. She’s only 55 minutes away from me and you make me want to close the laptop, turn off the phone and take off. The way you use enjambment drags me through the cool waves of your words in such a pleasing way. In the meantime, I will think blue.

  7. kim881 says:

    So glad you’re back, De. I missed your scat poetry! The line-breaks in this one scatter the words and meaning like tumble-weed. I love the way you fractured the word ‘in-digo’ and the phrase ‘stitched denim in her wanting’. I think we need a scat prompt soon!

  8. Wow! What a poem this is. The structure is beautiful, the rhythm moves you along, and there are some powerful, evocative lines. A great read.

  9. Bodhirose says:

    Such a contrast between the blue of the lake and the desert beige but I love how you acknowledge that you are “steeped in this desert” with that wondrous last stanza. Really enjoyed this!

  10. My goodness De 😀 the imagery here is simply to die for! ❤

  11. Imelda says:

    The last stanza is so beautiful. Blue is what I thought heaven is like.

  12. Well, now. This is pretty flawless. I like the form, the voice, the texture…and I think I’m a little bit envious that I didn’t write it myself. (That’s a good thing, right?) Really fine. Thanks.

  13. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    I enjoyed it all, and love the way you bring it to such a beautiful conclusion.

  14. Sherry Marr says:

    I well know what it is to love water and live in the desert. I did it for many years. This is beautifully written, De.

  15. Truedessa says:

    You really have captured the essence of both worlds the water and desert. I have to agree with the others I think this is one of my favorites of yours. I had to read it twice and it is just as nice!

  16. Glenn Buttkus says:

    The first reading I pictured a misplaced lady of the lake marooned in the high desert; second reading gave me Tahoe herself, though the Sierras are far from arroyo, ensconced in jack pine, so deep a lake creature could exist & rarely be seen. I’m intrigued by the references to “scat poetry”–tricky line breaks with multiple meanings perhaps? Yes, as commented upon, they poem is very strong, one of your best.

  17. Love those cobbled shades of grace.

  18. maria says:

    Everything about this piece is gorgeous, De. The title, the form, the vivid imagery– they all make up one gorgeous poem. Awwee, how lovely would it be to visit Lake Tahoe one day. 🙂

  19. Pingback: The Sky is Blue, Always Is – Doodles and Scribbles

  20. rosemawrites says:

    geeez. with the majestic lake as your muse, you were able to paint an emotive poem is several shades of blue, De. ❤

  21. lillian says:

    Oh my. First poem to read over my morning cup and it is a great one. I love the first stanza! “stitched denim in her wanting. her Lake” Okay — is it just me? I read this the first time, forgetting that the prompt could incorporate a lake — and thought of you (except for the molding veins!). I know you LOVE the Lake — your lake — and know you are not always there. And then, rereading it as the Lake, gives another perspective. For me, knowing your love of the Lake, this could be another portrait poem — a side of you.
    LOVE the title, the line breaks as always. Love the phrase “these tumble-weed days.” What a wonderful way to start my morning! 🙂 Thank you!

  22. ladynyo says:

    The power of this poem is breathtaking. The line breaks, the descriptive words, all wonderful. Reading this, I had to read it three times before I got a clue. Slow this morning, but this poem races ahead of my stogyness. What a wonderful and haunting poem. I’m going to have it in my head all day, and that is a good thing.

    Jane

  23. annell4 says:

    Yes, you caught me with your “tumble-weed days”, I see them often, seem to have a knowing that only belongs to tumble-weeds, so often caught on the fence helpless, waiting, in a land of longing….I enjoyed reading your poem.

  24. What a beautiful muse..love how you gave her skin, breath and feeling…your ending lines wrapped me in her waves, her form enveloping me in “shades of grace” So lovely. Thanks for sharing.

  25. concur with others – you are queen of the line break. Your salty mermaid muse did wonders between “her Lake

    ache is strong, but she belongs
    here, steeped in this desert”

    the blue prompt was a brilliantine one!

  26. Waltermarks says:

    It sounds lke your coming from a parched dry place, yearning for more. You must be in Texas under our Summer heat wave. Welcome Whimsy, I never knew you were here:). Seriously, very evocative to me of a thirsty place, thanks

  27. Pingback: Blue Hole – A Reading Writer

  28. sweet shades of grace
    That is what your words are! Shades of grace!

  29. Jae Rose says:

    Your line breaks are so very clever and effective..each one comes as a welcome jolt like an awakening..a pleasant shard which when read together makes beautiful blue music

  30. ManicDdaily says:

    A wonderful portrait, clever and original. I especially like Lake/ ache and all the enjambment. Thanks so much, DE, and for your kind comment as well. Great to be back at dverse. K.

  31. Bryan Ens says:

    You put your line breaks in the strangest of places …but somehow those line breaks add to the meaning and power of your piece. So I mean “strange” in a GOOD way! 🙂 Especially love the shades of grace at the end!

  32. You’re making me run out of superlatives to render in your name. Great ode to my favorite hue too! Keep on, girl!

Use your words.

