1993



We’re lying on our backs again, staring up at shards of sky. We know the names…Andromeda…Cassiopeia…the Ursas…but we have no idea what or who is where. I think I have found Draco, but then, I am always seeing dragons, everywhere. I wish for just a moment that I could borrow his wings. The Three Sisters are easy, having tangled themselves into Orion’s belt. Lying here too close and yet so far away, I myself am once again slightly uncinched – unconvinced that we will ever tangle ourselves into anything that anyone can see. Or anything that will ever, ever shine.

Laughing sliver moon
knows stars will fall, unbroken,
small light shed and shared.

..

I’m a day late (and perhaps a good nonfiction concept short) for Toni’s Haibun Monday over at dVerse. But I am always, ever inspired by the night sky, so I couldn’t resist giving it a try. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 1993

  1. Somewhere I missed (or more likely forgot) to learn all this astronomical stuff–but in the desert I have a CD from the Teaching Company and a telescope…a good one…that I’m waiting for the husband to figure out. I told him this year or else I’m selling it! I would love to be able to expand my poetic scope as you have! Lovely haiku, too.

  2. Sherry Marr says:

    I love “…..or anything that will ever ever shinE…….And you haiku is gorgeous.

  3. A great last line – shed and shared.

  4. kanzensakura says:

    A wonderful haibun. I love the last line of this. I also like that you mentioned Draco and the three sisters. And the haiku is perfection.

  5. Grace says:

    I want to borrow those dragon wings too. A lovely haibun De!

  6. Sumana Roy says:

    starry stories are my favorite…a gorgeous read….

  7. Brian says:

    Too busy now to see the stars, I reconnect through your words.

  8. Like this very much. Very evocative. Moved me.

  9. Anita Lubesh says:

    Lovely incorporation of the stars an the haiku was a great compliment, unbroken and their destiny filled…nice.

  10. Oh I do love this… and dragons.. of course we have to have dragons (though I favor bears a bit)

  11. Ω says:

    I love all the stuff about Draco (because I’m such a Harry Potter fan). But this is priceless hilarity: “The Three Sisters are easy, having tangled themselves into Orion’s belt.”

    I totally feel this (in the brain … that “uncinched”-ness): “Lying here too close and yet so far away, I myself am once again slightly uncinched” … but it also makes me think of my sister, who always used to say (before her gastro surgery) that she had overeaten and wanted to undo her pants (or get naked) and take a nap. 🙂 Now she’s all super skinny and can’t eat more than a handful of food at a time, so she keeps her clothes on after Christmas dinner. 😛

Use your words.

