The Inevitable Pull of Coinless Fountains

If I’m made in Your image, why is it I see
so little of You, and so much of me?
– Question from the Girl in the Mirror, De Jackson 2010

 

..

As if hope were an echo
or a nod
or the crimson shine of dawn,
we raise our heads
and hands
and hearts,
our breath
to free the seeds and softly plead
with fallen shards of sky.

Me?
(oh, my)
I’m fracture-falling,
too, and forever
wishing to find
(perhaps)
more
(or less)
of myself
on the other
less fragile side.

 

 

..
Over at dVerse Poetics today, Mish has us pondering wishes. Come play! 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Inevitable Pull of Coinless Fountains

  1. Fracture falling… love that.. sounds exactly where we are… more falling than failing…

  2. I love “Me/(oh, my) …” A very clever take on that turn of phrase. Also the last two lines of your first stanza — great sound!

  3. Glenn Buttkus says:

    It is we, yes, poets & dreamers the stoke philosophic meanderings & leaps of faith. I love the emotion & yet pragmatic poetic approach you’ve taken here. I like the lines /to free the seeds & softly plead/with fallen shards of sky/–wordsmithing supremo.

  4. kim881 says:

    Great phrase, fracture-falling! I love the notion of hope being the crimson shine of dawn. Being a bit of an insomniac, I get to see that every morning!

  5. Sigh such beautiful phrasing here ❤ with ‘Me? (oh, my) I’m fracture-falling, too, and forever wishing to find’ ❤ Profound write.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  6. kanzensakura says:

    I agree with Glenn. Your wordsmithing is superb in this poem. And fracture falling….i love being the crimson shine of dawn. Wonderful wishful poem.

  7. Mish says:

    The flow is like a soft tumbling of words…I loved every wishful breath of this.

  8. Such a prayer, really, De. I could visualize the shattering of glass, of all those false images in the fracture-falling. Love this.

  9. Joon says:

    Best title ever. Love the quote too.

    This is my favorite part of the poem:

    “to free the seeds and softly plead
    with fallen shards of sky.

    Me?
    (oh, my)
    I’m fracture-falling”

    Oh, the last two lines as well:

    “on the other
    less fragile side”

  10. Sumana Roy says:

    I love your forever wish, may it be true 🙂

  11. lillian says:

    Me oh my 😊.
    I love the quotation you’ve begun with and then to shift to fracture falling — how much of me is in those wishes on the fallen shards of sky? So much to think about here…. I’ve read this several times….
    Really enjoyed this take on the prompt!

  12. If I’m made in Your image, why is it I see
    so little of You, and so much of me?
    – Question from the Girl in the Mirror, De Jackson 2010 …. Love every single thing about this poem!!!

  13. I like this, particularly the “coinless fountains” – I remember those 🙂 and the Question from the Girl in the Mirror!

  14. Hmm.. you juSt noW.. De..
    reminded me of something
    hEar.. i read A book.. don’t sweat
    the small stuff but i didn’t have nearly
    enough mastery
    over mind
    and body balance
    to do that then..
    hmm.. perHaps
    fulfilling just A simple
    wish of being wHoly iN
    control within is truly
    the meaning
    of liFe
    whOLE
    iN Mastery oF
    control with relative trUe
    Free WiLL oVer Fearless Love..
    Thanks.. you just
    helped
    me write
    the meaning
    of A liFe.. too..
    aLL.. now.. A
    Day
    in The Life..
    i guess.. oh My
    God.. i finAlly get
    the answer to the question..
    posed in that SonG.. by the Beatles
    iN what they were reAlly trying to turn us on.. too..
    ending
    In A
    KeY
    of E-Long Wish..;)

  15. You’ve lived up to the name “whimsy” with this one. Beautiful.

  16. My favorite part? Fracture-falling. Such great word use. And what an image!

  17. Oh my, this is beautiful work. It really resonates.

  18. Fracture-falling… yes, I love that. I have all kinds of images in my head now!

Use your words.

