The Intricate Fallings of Everyday Love

There’s a smattering of blue-stain on the sky again, and You’re You again and I’m new again. We look up and the clouds have changed again and even breathing feels different. Fall is falling and my heart is calling out to a cooler breeze, a more quiet earth no longer baked into dust. There’s just something about waking up to crisp air, stirring my coffee and my soul to the beat of the birds. Making lunches, making time for just one moment more of breathed-in autumn silence. Flipping pancakes, and allowing my heart to fall in love with the earth all over again.

the moon’s a cold stone
waiting for the sun to warm
her unquiet skin


Written for Grace’s Haibun Monday challenge over at dVerse. Come play! ..

This entry was posted in moon poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Intricate Fallings of Everyday Love

  1. Grace says:

    Autumn is definitely here with crisp cool air, and breathed-in autumn silence ~ Doesn’t it feel old and new at the same as we watch the falling in the fall season ~ And so it is, we fall in love all over again ~ Gorgeous prose and love that waiting for the sun for warmth in your haiku ~

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Thanks, Grace. Ours literally just arrived today, and probably won’t last. We don’t usually get true fall weather until Halloween here in Southern Nevada. But boy was today a nice reprieve!

  2. Michael says:

    Hi De, I love the ending, that notion of falling in love with the earth again, beautiful haibun…

  3. kanzensakura says:

    Yes. Beeautiful haibun. and the haiku is perfection. I love the thought of falling in love with the earth all over again.

    • whimsygizmo says:

      Thanks so much, Toni. It always makes me extra happy when you like a haibun. 🙂 I feel like I have a tenuous relationship with the form, and you are so proficient at it. Appreciate your comment so much.

      • kanzensakura says:

        You are extremely proficient. Just continue to write truthfully and from your heart, as you do your poetry and you will continue to be extraordinary! ❤

  4. Very nice. The line about flipping pancakes instantly made me want pancakes. LOL>

  5. Brian says:

    The sun and the moon, she loves them both, one’s a pancake and the other a waffle. 🙂

  6. Bodhirose says:

    How wondrous that you fall in love with the earth over and over, De. Those first cool temperatures do invigorate us don’t they? Our fall has not shown up yet and there’s no telling when it might…maybe November some time?

  7. Miss Stacy says:

    falling in love with the earth….wow, i love that.
    the poem at the end is amazing!!

  8. I so much love the mixture of the poetic, the sense of fall and the dazzle of blue in the sky.. But then how much I like the pancake to the moon.

  9. I cam smell the change in the air…and the coffee and pancakes too. Lovely.

  10. Misky says:

    This is really gorgeous. So cosy and soothing. >

  11. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Whistles!! ❤️❤️ Such a gorgeous rendition of the season here, De 😀 I love the title so much it brought a huge smile on my face.. also “Flipping pancakes, and allowing my heart to fall in love with the earth all over again” is such a heartwarming image. Beautifully executed ❤️❤️

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  12. “You’re You again and I’m new again.” This is a stand-alone poem.

  13. This is so beautifully capturing the magic of autumn and rebirth and I love your moments of breathing in autumn silence.

  14. Sherry Marr says:

    I love your morning! And your haiku is GORGEOUS. Wow.

  15. jellybean disco says:

    What a gorgeous title.

    Love these, as well:
    “You’re You again and I’m new again”
    “even breathing feels different”
    “Making lunches, making time for just one moment more”
    “Flipping pancakes, and allowing my heart to fall in love”
    “unquiet skin”

  16. kim881 says:

    From the title right through to the haiku, I love this, De. I love the poetic opening line of the prose, with the repetition and internal rhyme: There’s a smattering of blue-stain on the sky again, and You’re You again and I’m new again.’ It’s there in ‘ Fall is falling and my heart is calling’. It’s rhythmic – a love song to life: ‘stirring my coffee and my soul to the beat of the birds’, with interwoven ordinary tasks like making lunches and flipping pancakes. And oh, that unquiet moon!

  17. MarinaSofia says:

    I like the little hints of chill in your haibun – a transience yet calmly down, instead of desperately clutching at the last rays of sun.

  18. Mish says:

    You had me at “smattering”. This is exceptional writing that I didn’t want to end, but you nailed it with the tight prose. I have to say that your flowing thoughts often mirror my own random ramblings in my head. Your expression of them is a gift, my friend. 🙂

  19. ZQ says:

    Not a bad day to wake up to. 🙂

  20. wonderful from the smattering of blue to the unquiet skin – uplifting for this reader who would like to grant the day such welcome

  21. Making lunches, making time for just one
    moment more of breathed-in autumn silence.

    So wonderful and much relieved in welcoming warm Autumn to ward off the heat of summer. A logical respite before the cold months appear!

    Hank

Use your words.

