dragon’s breath

pity her nothing,
this unquiet
puff of sky,
this fiery tangerine
cloud beast,
pinned soft and savage
least against her own
bright cerulean skin.

she has spun her
self of steam
and smoke and sigh
-lence, unshrouded
her eyes to the
s c a t t e r e d
violence of whim.

 

..
It’s Quadrille day over at dVerse, and Kim has us pondering clouds. Come play. 

This entry was posted in dragon poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to dragon’s breath

  1. “her eyes to the
    s c a t t e r e d
    violence of whim.”

    I love the way you use words, De. This is a roaring dragon.

  2. Sigh-lence Wow that’s so apt.

  3. frankhubeny says:

    I liked the phrase “sigh/-lence”.

  4. maria says:

    Love it, De! Fierce at its best!

  5. rosemawrites says:

    this is fiercely beautiful, De! ❤

  6. kim881 says:

    I’m so sorry it’s taken me a while to get around to reading your quirky quadrille, De! Such gorgeous dragon colours and fire! I love the phrase ‘unquiet puff of sky’ and the way you play with ‘smoke and sigh
    -lence’.
    Not a gentle dragon cloud but a poetic one. And now I know I’m not the only one to see dragons in the sky!

  7. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    My goodness, De ❤️ such a whirlwind of color and emotion.. your poem 🙂 especially love “unshrouded her eyes to the scattered violence of whim” Brilliant ❤️

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  8. Grace says:

    The cloud beast is sigh-worthy, wow De 🙂

  9. Breath of dragon boldy written across the sky. Wonderful.

  10. Brian says:

    I find it fascinating that we often see dragons cavorting across the seething sky.

  11. Shawna says:

    “this fiery tangerine
    cloud beast,
    pinned soft and savage
    … against her own
    bright cerulean skin”

    I love that.

    The word “least” confuses me. I was wondering if you meant it to be how it is, or if you intended it to say “at least” or something different. Or maybe it just has an invisible comma after “savage.” In any case, I’m not reading right, in one way or another. But I’m sure that’s just my fault.

  12. Sigh-lence (yes) Love this dragon themed cloud

  13. Oh that Nevada sky. I love this:
    this fiery tangerine
    cloud beast
    I guess you have gorgeous sunsets/sunrises down South, too. Wonderful metaphor.

  14. whimsygizmo says:

    Thank you all, so much, for your generous comments.

  15. Conjured up sunset clouds. Really great.

  16. This is really cool! I love your word choices. Cerulean is one of my favorite color words and it works perfectly here.

  17. Bodhirose says:

    Reminds me of the fiery tangerine sunset I saw this week after the hurricane spun through. I took photos but was unable to capture the deep orange that was spectacular…like your poem! Wonderful, De!

  18. Imelda says:

    ah, your dragon is no Puff. Yours is fierce and roars sigh-lently. 🙂

  19. Miss Stacy says:

    the scattered violence of whim!
    wow!!!
    love it.

  20. Truedessa says:

    I have seen a dragon or two in the clouds.

Use your words.

