hold the phone

..

here:
can you hear me? ask the moon
(she sighed)
,
and she’ll show you her darker
side, the way she’s come to know
the seas.
she sees

all, you (k)now: the way we
steal a moment, weigh the sky,
owe ourselves the sum of some
-thing greater than all this
skin. the daze of stars. no,

perhaps it is their wishes
as they’re trailing by.

oh.
there: see?
one silent, sparkling good
-bye. one
fading holy moment
too fleeting to remind us
(wholly to be fools)

to
seize the days,
to
know we’ve won.

 

..
Over at dVerse Poetics today, Lill has us pondering homophones.
(I have snuck 12 of them in here, one’s a 3-fer. Can you find them?)
Please note: “wholly to be fools” is a variation of a line from E.E. Cummings’ poem “since feeling is first.” 

 


This entry was posted in moon poems and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to hold the phone

  1. Oh yes the moon will know… how… great play with words here..

  2. Sherry Marr says:

    Love that gazing at the sky, that “one holy fading moment….”

  3. lillian says:

    Love it! Especially circling back to sees/seas/seize the days! So I love to stand outside at night and weigh the sky, make my wish to help me find my way 😊 🍷A glass of claret from the bar my friend? 😊❤️ I do need to claret my mind out 😉

  4. kim881 says:

    Worth waiting for, De! Excellent wordplay, the moon and stars – a great combination!

  5. Misky says:

    Hear Here!! or Hear Hear as they say over here! >

  6. Glenn Buttkus says:

    You found the perfect balance between levity & cohesiveness, I must say. You rocked the prompt with verve and consummate skill–making me feel that perhaps my lunge into pure levity was a bit lightweight (well, some say my poetry is too dark and heavy, so fun was had,)

  7. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Gosh this is incredibly worded, De ❤️ especially “and she’ll show you her darker side, the way she’s come to know the seas. she sees.” Kudos 😀

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

  8. Brian says:

    Conversations like relationships wax and wane.

  9. Enjoyed the dialogue charateristic of this and your weaving-in of the homophones so flawlessly with the help of a few hyphens.

  10. ghostmmnc says:

    Cool poem! I had fun finding your homophones, and found at least one 3-fer, as you mentioned. The moon and stars, are always a favorite subject!

  11. I like these stars and “Can you hear me?” Thanks for sharing!

  12. to seize the days,
    to know we’ve won.

    There has to be a finality and it is accompanied with lots of satisfaction! Very much so De
    (btw thanks for your tip – helps with the flow and looks nicer)

    Hank

Use your words.

