Breath of Blue

15178312_10154756418458415_8092001164299233825_n

Fill your lungs
(heart, mind,
soul)
with all this indigo
spill, with this sacred
quill of cloudy sky.

Breathe it in
(and in
and out again)
with thankful
grin on shadowed
shore.

Pocket some
midnight scrim
for later.

Be still.
Be filled,
and
know.

 

..
Mish has us breathing easy for today’s Quadrille at dVerse. Come play! 


This entry was posted in Quadrille and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Breath of Blue

  1. Sounds like something I could use about now. Visually entrancing… you’ll have me dancing all night!

  2. Mish says:

    I really must see Lake Tahoe, but you bring the magic right into my heart.
    Love this…”with thankful
    grin on shadowed
    shore.”

  3. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Oh De, this is absolutely stunning in its tone and imagery ❤️ especially love “Be still. Be filled,
    and know.”

  4. I do want to be filled like that… it’s just so cold at any shore right now… (but I do bicycle along the shore).

  5. Be still. Be filled,
    and know.

    Good advice. Do one’s own thing and not to be rattled by others!

    Hank

  6. Grace says:

    Love the ending, a prayer of thanks and hope ~

  7. frankhubeny says:

    I liked the phrase “indigo spill”.

  8. Brian says:

    The picture reminds me of a classic Western when filters made it appear to be midnight. I like the rhyme you breathe through to the end.

  9. This is beautiful De! :o)

  10. positively dancing with these words – and not even breathless. Especially like

    “Pocket some
    midnight scrim
    for later.”

  11. kanzensakura says:

    And know….yes and yes again!

  12. Misky says:

    Aaaw, love “this sacred quill of cloudy sky” Nice, De. Very nice.

  13. Breathing in blue exhaling calm… lovely

  14. So peaceful! I love the idea of pocketing some for later so that the peacefulness can be enjoyed later.

  15. Truedessa says:

    I really enjoyed the beginning lines, I would like to have my fill

  16. Love your take on scripture there at the end–that’s a Psalm I want for my funeral. Not to be grim, but there are times one thinks of that! I rode south today and looked up at the snow-laden mountains and thought of you and how wonderful Tahoe must be today.

  17. I echo everyone’s sentiment. Well done De.

  18. Bryan Ens says:

    Be still…and know. I caught that subtle hint to be at peace in the presence of God. Lovely quadrille!

  19. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Yes please!

Use your words.

